Sunday, December 15, 2013

Charmed and Charmed Again by Lindy Zart

Charmed


Blurb

On the day Taryn turns eighteen her life changes. A black-eyed man with a chilly aura accosts her and she's abducted by a man who really isn't a man, but a Manang; half-man, half-angel.

She's told she's someone special; a Charmed, and the key to winning in a battle of worlds about to collide. Only problem is, she can be a weapon of good or a weapon of bad, depending on who gets to her first.

My Review

There were so many things about this story that I just loved. First, I love the creative names that Lindy came up with for her characters, and how they really seemed to fit so well with their personalities.  Taryn had my giggling at her witty retorts to Creed.  They had such chemistry.  Together they were just the right mix of sarcasm and irony.

I really liked the idea of half-angel, half-human beings living on another planet.  Lindy did a great job building her worlds and the characters.  She did an even better job creating the personalities with the Charmed/humans, and how they contrasted to the Manangs (the angel-humans).

The action started almost from the first page, which I loved. I really hate when I have to go through chapter upon chapter of character and world building, and that is one of my favorite things about this story (and series, actually); you learn about the many different characters as you go, making it easier to keep remember who each character is, and what part they play in the grand scheme of things.  What was even better was the ending.  It doesn't go exactly how the reader may necessarily want it to go, but in a good way.  Trust me, it all works out in the end... meaning book two, Charmed Again!  I don't know why, but I really like when a book does not go as planned, or at least as I thought it was planned.  I love it when authors step outside the box and do not just go with what they think the readers want.  That is the beauty of their art - it is their's to do with as they wish!

Buy Charmed on Amazon!

Charmed Again

Blurb

Once a Manang: a half-man, half-angel, now a full angel, Creed has darkness in him that threatens to take him over. If it succeeds, he will be forever lost.

One woman has the power to take away the darkness, but she is held captive by an evil Creed alone can save her from. He only has to save himself first.

My Review

I have to say that I actually loved this book more than the first.  Being able to be inside Creed's head was probably the smartest move Lindy could have made with this series (the series isn't over yet, though!).  I know that most women prefer to read books in a female perspective, and while I can wholeheartedly say that I would have definitely enjoyed being inside Remy's head, nothing could have compared to the full understanding you get of Creed's inner turmoil - self-loathing? There is so much to him and I swear she could have written a book double the length of Charmed Again and I would have had no issues reading it in its entirety.

The best way to describe Creed's journey is beautiful.  Absolutely beautiful.  Even when he was in his darkest moments Lindy was able to capture something beautiful.  I am probably more excited to read what is coming up next with this series than I was with Cassie Clare's Clockwork Princess (seriously!! No joke!).

Psst... Wanna know a super secret Nerd Girl exclusive?  I spoke to the fabulous Ms. Zart before writing my review because I just had to know who the next book is going to follow.  However, she is a tight lipped little stinker and wouldn't tell me.  I did, though, get a smidgen of information about it, and have it on good authority that the next story is going to follow someone we have already met in the series.  Who do you think will be the star in the next Charmed novel?  Let the debating begin!

Buy Charmed Again on Amazon!

About the Author

I've been writing since I was a wee lass. I was reading before that; possibly while still in the womb. Don't think about that too much.

I started out with short horror stories and poetry. I was terrible at it. The poems not so much, but the stories were awful.

I decided to finish a book (and I DO mean finish--I'd started plenty throughout the years) when I was in my mid-twenties (so not that long ago because I'm young and will forever stay that way). Again, not my best work.

But that's the thing about writing; it improves with time. (It's also a good thing to know your work can't possibly be any worse than it was when you first started.)

What I love most about writing is having people tell me how much they enjoy my work; how my writing touches them; makes them feel intensely. 

Bringing a reader to laughter or tears is a wonderful feeling for a writer, and no, I'm not sadistic. *insert evil laugh HERE* It means I got them to feel, to respond to something I created. 

Also, I just like to make stuff up and put it down on paper. I have an endless supply of stories in my head; lots of stuff to share with the world.


Happy Reading!

Stalk Lindy
Blog | Amazon | Goodreads | Facebook

***Review has been done in conjunction with Nerd Girl Official. For more information regarding our reviews please visit our Fansite: www.facebook.com/NerdGirl.ng ***

Tuesday, December 3, 2013

Like Mom by Cheryl Robinson - Blog Tour

BLURB

Determined to lose weight, Nevada Pearson participates in a twelve-week clinical trial for a new diet pill. Nevada thinks if she’s slim, her life will be so much better. She won’t have to wear dark clothes to hide her big belly and can kiss the plus sizes good-bye. Her husband will stop ogling every skinny woman in sight, and she’ll stop accusing him of cheating. She won’t have to worry that he’ll leave her the way her dad left her mom. She can stop ranting on her YouTube channel about being fat. She’ll get promoted at work. Her fifteen-year-old daughter will want to lose weight, too, instead of staying holed up in her bedroom eating junk food and surfing the Internet for a cure to her social anxiety. But Nevada isn’t prepared for what happens next and how quickly her life changes—and it has nothing to do with her amazing weight loss.


Excerpt

Nicole

I’d been a basketball fan ever since I was in Pull-Ups.  My cousin Tattoo got me into it. I just remember cheering for this real tall, skinny guy they called the Big Ticket whose real name was Kevin Garnett, KG for short. KG was Tattoo’s favorite player, and we followed him from the Timberwolves over to the Celtics, and that was when I first saw Rajon Rondo in action, and it was love at first assist. I loved Rondo, and I loved basketball—watching, not playing. But I hated high school. I tried to trick my mind into thinking high school was a lot like basketball—a game of four quarters.  That was what I told myself to stay focused in class.  If I fell behind in one quarter, it could cost me the game. Well, I was almost halfway through ninth grade and getting blown out. It had nothing to do with my grades. I knew how to study. What I didn’t know how to do was socialize. And in high school, socializing was just as important as studying because if you didn’t fit in and if no one liked you, school could be a living hell. 

As crazy as it may seem, the Celtics and Connect Four keep me alive. Otherwise, I felt:

A. Hopeless 
B. Empty 
C. Lost 
D. Confused 
E. Angry
F. All of the above.  

Right now I felt I was “F,” as in failing.

Not school. 

Life.  

I was almost fifteen, and I was already failing at life, but at least, I was ahead in something.

Cheryl will be awarding a $50 Amazon Gift Card to a randomly drawn commenter during the tour!

About the Author

Cheryl Robinson is a native Detroiter currently residing in Central Florida. She started her literary career as an independent author, publishing two books before eventually landed a publishing deal with Penguin/NAL Trade. She published six novels with NAL Trade and two more novels as an independent author. She is currently working on her next novel. Visit her Website at cherylrobinson.com, where you can read her blog and enter her monthly blog contest.







Friday, November 29, 2013

☆★ C.M. STUNICH'S BLACK FRIDAY SALE ☆★

C.M. Stunich is having a SECRET sale for Black Friday!  Today only you can get a copy of Broken Pasts for FREE!


→ AMAZON US: http://goo.gl/QSndtw
→ AMAZON UK: http://goo.gl/tiUMGz
→ AMAZON CA: http://goo.gl/KsYBIA
→ AMAZON AU: http://goo.gl/htq6Cf

BROKEN PASTS - an Adult Contemporary Romance (a Full Length Stand Alone Novel - No Cliff Hanger) 
Mature - Ages 18 and Up. 
From the Amazon Bestselling Author of 'Losing Me, Finding You' and 'Real Ugly' 

“Until Nathaniel Sutherland was open and all his soul was bared for me to see, I wouldn't be satisfied.” 

Theresa McMaster does not have a good track record when it comes to men. Her first husband walked out on her after a terrible miscarriage left her unable to carry any children of her own, and her estranged second husband has revealed himself to be more than just an emotional danger – he's been stalking her. 

Fearing for her own safety as well as that of her family, Theresa hires a private security service and meets Nathaniel, the man whose secrets and heartaches may just outnumber her own. Drawn into the arms of the sexy stranger, Theresa fears that both of their pasts may very well be the things that keep them apart. 

“You can't escape your past by running from it.” 

BROKEN PASTS EXCERPT

“It's a pleasure to meet you,” he said and I wasn't sure if I were hallucinating or not, but I'm almost certain he emphasized the word. Pleasure. “My name is Nathaniel Sutherland and I'm from Personal Private Security Detail.” Here he paused and removed his glasses. He didn't tear them off his face and shake his head of deliciously soft, dark hair like they do in the movies. He just removed them gently, folded the arms up and stuck them in the front pocket of his suit. His eyes made my breath catch in my throat and sent my body temperature skyrocketing. They were dark green, smooth and polished like emeralds, deep, thoughtful. Sexy. “Is that Emily on the phone?” 

“Uh.” I was at a loss for words. Without another word, he reached out, plucked the phone from my fingers and put it to his ear. 

“Everything is fine here, Emily,” he said with the most wicked smile I had ever seen on a man. “I'll call you later and update you with Ms. McMaster's new phone number.” He ended the call and passed the phone back to me. “May I come in?” I stepped aside without a word and he came inside, eyes scanning the room like a predator searching for prey. His muscles were tensed and even with the clean, sharp lines of his suit covering him, I could see that he was ready for action. I closed the door behind him and locked it. He glanced over one of his broad shoulders and flashed me an admirable smile. “Good,” he said as he turned his attention back to my house. “We don't have to start at ground zero with you. That's excellent.”

“Huh?” That's all I could think to say. Jamie had said the men she'd hired were tight. But … wow. Nathaniel wasn't just tight; he was deadly. He was clean shaven with pale, not pasty, just pale, skin and full lips. His dark hair was just this side of brown, toeing that line between black and chocolate. Nothing about his appearance was out of the ordinary per se, but all together, the perfection that was Nathaniel Sutherland was hard to ignore. It was the little details that made this man: the well pressed suit, perfectly tailored to his body, the crispness of the shirt beneath, the way his hair fell just slightly onto his brow, like it had been sculpted there. He was so well put together that had he had the face of a Neanderthal, he would've looked good. And that's not to say he did. Nathaniel Sutherland had a strong face, but it was in no way reminiscent of a caveman. He straddled that metrosexual line, but in a good way. He was clean, he smelt good, and he was probably gay. Had to be. Had had had to. Or else he was married. Or both.


Clean Teen Publishing - Black Friday Sale and Giveaweay!

CLEAN TEEN PUBLISHING'S

2013 BLACK FRIDAY SALE & GIVEAWAY! 

Take advantage of this epic Black Friday sale hosted by Clean Teen Publishing! Nearly every book will be reduced to $.99 for ONE DAY ONLY on November 29, 2013. Take advantage of these sixteen young adult and new adult books that have been reduced to $.99 on Amazon. So grab your Kindle's or open up your Kindle Apps and get to shopping! 


Check out the titles below that are on sale and don't forget to enter the awesome SWAG Pack Giveaway at the bottom
Here is what you could win: 
(*U.S. only but International winners will receive a $10 Amazon Gift Card in lieu of the prize.) 

Young Adult Adventure (YAe) 
"Harry Potter Fans Will Love This Series!"
Regular Price: $3.99    Sale Price: $.99

The Awakener by Amanda Strong
Young Adult Paranormal Romance (YA) 
"Fallen Fans Will Love This Series!"
Regular Price: $3.99    Sale Price: $.99

Concealed in the Shadows by Gabrielle Arrowsmith
Young Adult Dystopian (YA) 
"Divergent Fans Will Love This Series!"
Regular Price: $2.99    Sale Price: $.99

Double Star by Cindy Saunders
Young Adult Paranormal Fantasy (YA) 
"Need Fans Will Love This Book!"
Regular Price: $2.99    Sale Price: $.99

Finding ELE by Rebecca Gober and Courtney Nuckels 
Young Adult Dystopian/Paranormal Romance (YA) 
"Mortal Instruments Fans Will Love This Series!"
Book 1: Project ELE is FREE
Regular Price: $2.99    Sale Price: $.99

The Key by Jennifer Anne Davis
Young Adult Romantic Fantasy (YA Mature) 
"Throne of Glass and Grave Mercy Fans Will Love This Book!"
Regular Price: $3.99    Sale Price: $.99

Lingering Echoes by Erica Kiefer
New Adult Contemporary Romance (Rated YA Mature) 
"Beautiful Disaster Fans Will Love This Book!"
Regular Price: $3.99    Sale Price: $.99

Redemption by Rebecca Gober and Courtney Nuckels
Young Adult Paranormal Romance (YA) 
"Twilight Fans Will Love This Book!"
Book 1 in the series: Night Marchers is FREE!
Regular Price: $3.99    Sale Price: $.99

Reluctant Guardian by Melissa J. Cunningham
Young Adult Paranormal Romance (YA Mature) 
"Hush, Hush Fans Will Love This Book!"
Regular Price: $3.99    Sale Price: $.99

Rising by Holly Kelly 
New Adult Paranormal Romance (Rated YA Mature) 
"Wake and Forgive My Fins Fans Will Love This Series!"
Regular Price: $3.99    Sale Price: $.99


River of Bones by Angela J. Townsend 
Young Adult Horror with a Romantic Twist (YAe) 
"The Forest of Hands and Teeth Fans Will Love This Series!"
Regular Price: $3.99    Sale Price: $.99

Wind Warrior by Jon Messenger
New Adult Paranormal Romance (YA) 
"Vampire Academy Fans Will Love This Series!"
Regular Price: $3.99    Sale Price: $.99

The Wall by Lauren Nicolle Taylor
Young Adult Dystopian Romance (YA Mature) 
Book 1 in the Series: The Woodlands is FREE!
"Hunger Games Fans Will Love This Series!"
Regular Price: $4.99    Sale Price: $.99

Wonderstruck Anthology by Clean Teen Publishing
Young Adult Anthology 
Regular Price: $2.99    Sale Price: $.99

Titanium by Alicia Michaels
New Adult Dystopian Romance (Mature Content) 
Book 1 in the Series: The Bionics is FREE!
"Shatter Me Fans Will Love This Series!"
Regular Price: $2.99    Sale Price: $.99

Fall of Icarus by Jon Messenger
Adult Sci-Fi Series
Book 1 in the Brink of Distinction Series: Burden of Sisyphus is FREE!
"Enders Game Fans Will Love This Series!"
Regular Price: $2.99    Sale Price: $.99

Don't Forget To Enter The Giveaway!

One lucky winner will receive a huge Clean Teen Publishing Swag Pack to include a Wonderstruck Tote Bag, Bookmarks, Decorative Bookmark, Keychain, Pen and CTP Authors Are My Rockstars Bracelets. Good Luck! 

Also, check out our Year Of Free Books Giveaway

Monday, November 25, 2013

The Unholy by Paul DeBlassie III

BLURB:  

A young curandera, a medicine woman, intent on uncovering the secrets of her past is forced into a life-and-death battle against an evil Archbishop. Set in the mystic land of Aztlan, The Unholy is a novel of destiny as healer and slayer. Native lore of dreams and visions, shape changing, and natural magic work to spin a neo-gothic web in which sadness and mystery lure the unsuspecting into a twilight realm of discovery and decision.


Check out the excerpt and learn more about the author, then enter for your chance to win a $50 Amazon or Barnes & Noble gift card!



Excerpt

“Help me? Help yourself! Face what is yours to face,” Elizabeth hissed. She yanked the door open then forced it to slam behind her.

Claire stood still for a moment, feeling as if a tornado had swept through the room. Elizabeth’s demand had left her shaken. She drew a deep breath, then went to her desk and picked up her tea, noticing her trembling hands.

Turning toward the window, Claire saw a muscular orderly accompanying Elizabeth to the locked ward at the far end of the hospital compound. A flock of crows circled high overhead, seeming to follow the two receding figures. As they arrived at the outer doors of the locked unit, the orderly reached for his keys. The crows circled while the two crossed the threshold of the unit, Elizabeth suddenly pausing, turning, and looking outside, her gaze riveted on the flock of birds.

All but two flew off, disappearing into the piñon-covered hills. The two that remained came to rest on the red brick wall adjacent to the locked unit, their black eyes boring into Elizabeth. She looked panicked then enraged and, shaking a finger at the creatures, yelled something. Her frantic gestures told Claire that she was screeching curses to ward off evil.

Claire took a step back from the window, from the impact of Elizabeth’s rage.

The orderly grabbed Elizabeth roughly by the arm and pulled her inside.

The crows waited, watched, then flew away.



You can also purchase The Unholy at Barnes & Noble!

About the Author

Paul DeBlassie III, Ph.D., is a psychologist and writer living in Albuquerque who has treated survivors of the dark side of religion for more than 30 years. His professional consultation practice — SoulCare — is devoted to the tending of the soul. Dr. DeBlassie writes fiction with a healing emphasis. He has been deeply influenced by the mestizo myth of Aztlan, its surreal beauty and natural magic.

He is a member of the Depth Psychology Alliance, the Transpersonal Psychology Association and the International Association for Relational Psychoanalysis and Psychotherapy.  


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sunday, November 10, 2013

Crushing Summer by C.M. Stunich - Review & Giveaway

18334928
Title: Crushing Summer

Author: C.M. Stunich
Release Date: November 7, 2013
Genre: New Adult Romance
add-to-goodreads-button31

heartdividerPost

Synopsis
I'm a girl. I met a boy. Why can't it stay that simple?

Here, in this town, summer doesn't just mean tiny bikinis and sunglasses, white toothed grins and lounging at the beach. It means pain. And loss. And false promises.

It means liars pretending to be saints, friends pretending to be enemies, rivals pretending to be lovers.

For me, it means being crushed. The Crush, actually. The one they all want simply because they were told to. It means being surrounded by beautiful faces and gorgeous bodies, sweet words and sizzling kisses.

It means being wanted and despised.

My name is Chloe Summer, and I'm afraid that if I'm not careful, this summer could be my last.
heartdividerPost
Buy the Book


heartdividerPost
My Review
I am so happy that I was able to read this book for CM.  It is quite a bit different to her other books, not that this should be a surprising notion.  It is one of the many reasons I love to read her work.  She can write anything, in any point of view, and draw you in.  Any genre, any sex, any age, it doesn't matter.  

I knew going into the start of this book that it was a suspenseful story with lots of mystery and probably a love triangle (I mean, it is a YA book after all).  I was excited about the suspense and really kind of not looking forward to the love triangle.  Just once, I want to read a YA book where a girl knows what she wants and goes for it without stringing along some hopelessly in lust teenage boy.  However, this love triangle really worked well with the story.  My favorite part about it?  Chloe was up front with both boys about her intentions, that she was spending time with both of them and what went on while they were together (at their different times of course).  It was actually quite refreshing.

As for the suspense, I sort of knew who the big, bad, crazy nut job was, but I honestly had no idea how they were said big, bad, crazy nut job.  I loved that I couldn't really figure it out (like I usually do).  It is one of those characters that you love to hate and secretly hope that, because this is a suspenseful story, they will some how get killed off so you can bask in the rightness of it - that karma did her job and took care of the bad guy (or girl... I can't tell you or I'd have to kill you). 

I absolutely loved the undertones in the story that is the Assignment.  I also thought it was quite perfect since we just recently spent an entire month promoting bully awareness across the Indie Book World.  The Queen Bee, The King, The Jock, The Heartthrob, The Crush, The Bad Boy/Girl, The Outcast... Mob mentality and group think.  And entire town that just turns their heads and looks the other way when clearly someone should be stepping and and taking control of an out of control situation(s).  It was one of those stories that, once you're finished, makes you stop and think about all of those times you could have said something and didn't; and how now that you've read it and thought back on those moments in your life, you know that the next time you witness it you will take a stand for your fellow human being.

Simply a fantastic job with a great story that is unique and extremely thought provoking. ♥
heartdividerPost
About the Author

6432984
C.M. Stunich was raised under a cover of fog in the area known simply as Eureka, CA. A mysterious place, this strange, arboreal land nursed Caitlin's (yes, that's her name!) desire to write strange fiction novels about wicked monsters, magical trains, and Nemean Lions (Google it!). She currently enjoys drag queens, having too many cats, and tribal bellydance.


Always a fan of the indie scene and 'sticking it to the man,' Ms. Stunich decided to take the road less traveled and forgo the traditional publishing route. You can be assured though that she received several rejections as to ensure her proper place in the world of writers before taking up a friend's offer to start a publishing company. Sarian Royal was born, and Ms. Stunich's books slowly transformed from mere baking chocolate to full blown tortes with hand sculpted fondant flowers.

C.M. is a writer obsessed with delivering the very best and scours her mind on a regular basis to select the most unusual stories for the outside world.

Ms. Stunich can be reached via e-mail or by post and loves to hear from her readers. Ms. Stunich also wrote this biography and has no idea why she decided to refer to herself in the third person.

Come visit me at www.cmstunich.com and follow me on Facebook !

heartdividerPost
Giveaway


gmail

Thursday, November 7, 2013

Crushing Summer Release Blitz

18334928

Title: Crushing Summer
Author: C.M. Stunich
Release Date: November 7, 2013
Genre: New Adult Romance

add-to-goodreads-button31

heartdividerPost

Synopsis:
I'm a girl. I met a boy. Why can't it stay that simple?

Here, in this town, summer doesn't just mean tiny bikinis and sunglasses, white toothed grins and lounging at the beach. It means pain. And loss. And false promises.

It means liars pretending to be saints, friends pretending to be enemies, rivals pretending to be lovers.

For me, it means being crushed. The Crush, actually. The one they all want simply because they were told to. It means being surrounded by beautiful faces and gorgeous bodies, sweet words and sizzling kisses.

It means being wanted and despised.

My name is Chloe Summer, and I'm afraid that if I'm not careful, this summer could be my last.
heartdividerPost

Buy the Book
LINK COMING SOON - CHECK BACK!

heartdividerPost

Excerpt
“Hey, what's your last name?” I asked suddenly, remembering the need I felt earlier to have it, like this would seem more real somehow if I got that information. 
“Alice,” he replied and then dug around in his pocket for a second. I thought he was going for a smoke, but when he pulled out his hand, he had a seashell lying in his palm. It was a small, pink conch, about the size of a dime. I'd never seen one that little before. When I reached out to touch it, Casper folded his fingers around the shell. I glanced up at him. “This is for you,” he told me. “But first, I want to hear your last name.” My pulse began to thunder in my head and my mouth went dry. I couldn't explain the feeling, but there it was again, that magnetic heat that was always between us, warming the cold evening air and lighting up the sky with fireworks. It felt exactly the way people always claimed first love will feel – wild, electric, uncontrollable. Now, I didn't exactly think I was in love, not yet, but there was the possibility of love, and it was as beautiful as the roiling sea. 
“Summer.” Casper grinned and opened his fingers, waiting with his palm outstretched and his eyes locked onto mine. 
“It suits you,” he said, and I smiled. My hand came up and the tips of my own fingers slid across his moist flesh, testing, teasing, learning. Each whorl of my fingertips felt like a ridge, crashing against the lines of Casper's hand until my heart was pumping so fast I thought it would burst from my chest. If I wasn't careful, I'd end up dropping dead and getting buried in one of the old graves. 
I put the shell in my lap and clasped my hands around it. 
“Casper,” I began, knowing I couldn't put this off any longer. I hated to break the moment, but I could hear the shouting and cheering coming from the drive-in and knew it was only a matter of time before he figured out there was something odd going on. “I know we just met and this might sound a little weird, but there's something you should know about this town.” His raised his thin brows and sat back, draping his arms over the back of the bench. 
“Do you sacrifice kittens on the full moon? Because if so, I'm totally out. I won't sacrifice kittens. Goats, maybe. But not kittens.” I tried to smile back at the joke, but thinking of The Assignment was akin to strapping weights on either side of my mouth. The corners of my lips pulled down into a frown. 
“Tonight is Assignment Night.” Casper remained still, listening, not at all nervous about what I was going to say. He didn't think it was going to be bad or that it was going to affect him, but I knew it would. Somehow, I just knew. 
“Like, for classes or something?” 
“Like, for the summer. All summer. Tonight, all the students, ages thirteen to eighteen, will be assigned a title. Most of them will stay Students, but a select lucky and unlucky few will be … Something else.” Casper gave me a look that said I was totally and completely nuts. Again, I attempted a smile, but this one fell even flatter than the first. I resorted to keeping my eyes on the sea and letting my fidgety hands spin the conch around in circles. “You know all the stereotypes people think about when they talk about high school? Jocks? Losers? Party boys? Goths?” Casper pulled a cigarette out of his pocket and slipped it between his lips. 
“Yeah, sure, okay.” 
“Well … on Assignment Night, tonight, people get nominated by their peers for certain … positions, and then they have to act them out until the Friday before Labor Day. Every day until that day, at midnight, they have to be who everyone wants them to be, for good or bad. And everyone else, the Students, they have to play along.” 
“Um, you're kidding right? Is this some kind of game?” My faux smiled turned into a grimace.
“I wish it were. If it were just a game, it'd be fun, right? But it's not. I mean, I used to think it was, but not anymore. People get hurt playing this game.” I paused, not necessarily for dramatic effect, but there it was. “They get killed. Sometimes. By accident.” 
“You're serious?” Casper asked, sitting up, looking alarmed. “Why, how?” I nibbled my lower lip for a second, trying to decide how to explain this. 
“There are certain … roles you don't really want to play. Like Outcast. Or even Crush. Last year's Crush was killed in an accident … She couldn't handle the attention and she ran off in the middle of the night. They say she slipped on the edge of the cliff and … ” I didn't have to finish my sentence. Casper was smart; he'd figure it out. It was so clichéd, but still tragic. When Tatiana's body had washed up onshore, it had been barely recognizable. She had no eyes, no face at all really, and her hands … I shook the memory off. 
“Can you opt out or whatever?” I glanced over at Casper. His green eyes were wide and his cigarette remained unlit. 
“I guess. I mean, I am this year. We are. It's not normal, but if we're not there, we can't sign up.” I shrugged and watched as the shaking got worse. Casper's face blanched and his lips got tight. 
“My sister. Julie. Let's say, she went to the drive-in. I mean, let's just pretend for a second that she was sitting in my car.” I stared at Casper with a baffled expression my face. They wouldn't … would they? No. No, I knew better. They would. They most certainly would. That whole mob mentality thing is true. When everybody got together for The Assignment, they got weird. 
“If she were there,” I began, feeling afraid for a girl I'd never met. “Then she'd be in big trouble.”
heartdividerPost

About the Author


6432984
C.M. Stunich was raised under a cover of fog in the area known simply as Eureka, CA. A mysterious place, this strange, arboreal land nursed Caitlin's (yes, that's her name!) desire to write strange fiction novels about wicked monsters, magical trains, and Nemean Lions (Google it!). She currently enjoys drag queens, having too many cats, and tribal bellydance.


Always a fan of the indie scene and 'sticking it to the man,' Ms. Stunich decided to take the road less traveled and forgo the traditional publishing route. You can be assured though that she received several rejections as to ensure her proper place in the world of writers before taking up a friend's offer to start a publishing company. Sarian Royal was born, and Ms. Stunich's books slowly transformed from mere baking chocolate to full blown tortes with hand sculpted fondant flowers.

C.M. is a writer obsessed with delivering the very best and scours her mind on a regular basis to select the most unusual stories for the outside world.

Ms. Stunich can be reached via e-mail or by post and loves to hear from her readers. Ms. Stunich also wrote this biography and has no idea why she decided to refer to herself in the third person.

Come visit me at www.cmstunich.com and follow me on Facebook !

heartdividerPost
Giveaway
LBSbutton

Tuesday, October 22, 2013

Echo Prophecy by Lindsey Fairleigh

BLURB:

“…we only see what we want to see…what we expect to see…”

Discover what’s hidden—a powerful, mythic race, an ancient Egyptian prophecy, and a love strong enough to shatter the boundaries of time.

Alexandra Larson isn’t human…but she doesn’t know that. As far as Lex is concerned, she’s simply an ambitious and independent archaeology grad student with a knack for deciphering ancient languages, especially the various forms of Egyptian. When she’s recruited to work on her dream excavation, her translating skills uncover the secret entrance to an underground Egyptian temple concealed within Djeser-Djeseru—the famous mortuary temple of Queen Hatchepsut. Lex is beyond thrilled by her discovery…as is the enigmatic and alluring excavation director, Marcus Bahur.

As the relationship between Lex and Marcus heats up, a series of shocking revelations leave the young archaeologist reeling. Once Lex discovers the truth of her ancient Egyptian roots—the truth of her more-than-human nature—the people she trusts most make one final, terrifying revelation: Lex is the central figure of a four-thousand-year-old prophecy. She is the only thing standing between the power to alter the very fabric of time and an evil megalomaniac…who also happens to be her father. As events set in motion over four millennia ago lead Lex and Marcus from Seattle to the heart of Egypt, the fate of mankind depends on one thing: the strength of Lex’s love.

My Review

I wasn't sure how well I would be able to get into the book when I  started reading the prologue.  If I have a hard time pronouncing words in a book it draws my focus away from the story and I spend more time trying to figure out if I'm saying/thinking the word right.  However, by the end of the prologue I was already hooked.

I loved the characters in this book.  They were fun and very easy to connect to.  Their personalities were not overdone, which I have come to find happens a lot with quirky characters.  I loved that it took me a few days to read this book, too.  I enjoy a quick read, but I like being able to sit with a book for a few days and really become immersed into another world.  I have to say that I have also, thanks to Ms. Fairleigh, been looking for programs on History and Discovery about ancient Egypt (lol).

This story has a very original idea, which is hard to come by lately in the indie world.  It isn't so much because people are stealing ideas from each other, it is just that there are so many new authors trying to make it that many of them end up writing books with the same ideas and plots. And a random thought to add, I found the best parenting advice, ever, while reading this book (see excerpt below this review). 

While I cannot wait to read the next book in this trilogy, I have to say that I loved that there was only a teeny, tiny cliff hanger at the end, and I still had plenty of closure.  I am so excited to see where we get to go next!

Excerpt

“Alright,” she purred. “Follow me.”

Swaying, she led me through a curtain of multi-hued glass beads and into a cramped back room that had clearly been decorated with fortune-telling in mind; there was a small, square table of polished oak, several dim antique lamps, and a short bookshelf filled with tarot cards, leather-bound books, and other tools of the trade. A teenage version of the shop owner was sitting at the table, rapt attention on her phone. She cocked her head inquisitively at our arrival but didn’t look up.

“Kat, go watch the counter. I have some business with this customer.”

The teenager—Kat—rolled her eyes before standing and exiting the room with a huff.

“Your daughter?” I asked, amused.

“Do you have children?”

I shook my head, surprised by her question.

“I’d advise that you spend some time remembering your teenage self before reproducing. If you can’t stand the idea of being around that version of yourself for more than a few hours, you’re not ready,” the shopkeeper replied.

“I heard that, Mom!” Kat called from the front of the store.

My hostess pointedly raised one artful eyebrow. “Please, have a seat.” She took her daughter’s place while I sat in the wooden chair opposite her.

“Thanks for agreeing to speak with me,” I said after a long silent moment. It wasn’t much of a conversation starter, but it was the best I could come up with under pressure.

With a knowing smile, she said, “I’m sure it will be enlightening for us both. Now, what brought you here?”

I pursed my lips, considering the best way to start. “I guess you could say I’m looking for answers . . . or an explanation. You see, I’ve been experiencing something sort of . . . odd.”

“Odd how?” she asked, resting her clasped hands on the table.

“Well . . . it’s these dreams I’ve been having. Except, I just had one and I was awake, which doesn’t really make sense, does it? And they’re not dreams exactly, but more like visions. I mean, some are things I’ve witnessed in my life, but some happened before I was born, and—this is going to sound totally nuts—some haven’t even happened yet. But they’re all real.”

As I spoke, my companion sat up straighter, evidently intrigued. “What makes you think it’s anything beyond an active imagination? What makes it ‘real’?”

I leaned forward, intent on making the woman—a stranger—believe me. If she believed me without thinking I was crazy, maybe I could too. “Because I know things.” I said. “Things I shouldn’t know . . . things I couldn’t know. I dreamed something bad would happen to me, and it happened exactly as I saw it.”

“If you knew it would happen, why didn’t you try to change it?”

I laughed bitterly. “I thought I was just anxious. It didn’t seem possible that I could see the future in my dreams.”

“You said it’s not always a dream, that you’ve been awake for these ‘visions’?”

“Yeah . . . just once, about fifteen minutes ago.”

She leaned back in her chair, studying me, her generous lips pressed together in a flat line. After a protracted silence, she asked, “You want to know what’s happening to you, correct?”

“Yes.” Eager, I licked my lips. She knows something . . . she has to.

“I’ve heard of people with abilities like this. Usually it’s genetic.” She paused. “Have you spoken with your parents about it?”

Frustrated, I shook my head. “My mom doesn’t know about any of it. She’d tell me if she did. And . . . I don’t know who my father is.”

“Mom!” Kat called from the front of the shop.

“Just a minute!” the woman across the table from me yelled back. To me, she said, “Your situation is odd, like you said, but there are others like you out there. It’s standard for your kind to learn about such things from their families. I’m amazed you’ve slipped through the cracks for so long.”

“My kind? What are you talking about?” My hands gripped the edge of the table so firmly that my nail beds were turning white.

The muffled sound of Kat’s voice, along with a deeper, male voice, grew louder from beyond the beaded curtain.

“Yes, your kind.”

About Lindsey Fairleigh

Lindsey Fairleigh lives her life with one foot in a book--as long as that book transports her to a magical world or bends the rules of science. Her novels, from post-apocalyptic to time travel and historical fantasy, always offer up a hearty dose of unreality, along with plenty of adventure and romance. When she's not working on her next novel, Lindsey spends her time reading and trying out new recipes in the kitchen. She lives in the Napa Valley with her loving husband and confused cats.




Purchase Echo Prophecy on Amazon:


You can also purchase Echo Prophecy at Barnes & Noble, Kobo, and Smashwords!



Tuesday, October 15, 2013

Clean Teen Publishing - Bullying Awareness Month Giveaway

Help Stop Bullying 

Clean Teen Publishing's Bullying Awareness Month Giveaway


October is around the corner and with October comes National Bullying Awareness Month. We all have been affected by bullying in some way or another during our life time. We all know how it made us feel. Some of us are going through it right now. Some of us are watching our children going through it. All of us know someone who is being affected by it. That is why during the month of October, Clean Teen Publishing and Crimson Tree Publishing will be hosting a series of posts from our authors about bullying. We invite everyone to subscribe to our blog and come back often during the month of October to participate in our Bullying Awareness Month Events and Giveaways. 

Let's work together to stop bullying now! 


You don't have to wait until October to help stop bullying. 
And you don't have to wait until October to enter our grand prize giveaway for $100! 

Enter now for your chance to win a $50 gift card to give to anyone you think needs encouragement. (This can be a friend, a family member, a neighbor, someone who is going through a hard time right now, someone who has been bullied recently, etc. This is up to you on who you want to give the $50 gift card to.) And we will match the give away with another $50 gift card for you
*Both gift cards will be sent through email and will be from Amazon.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...