Saturday, March 30, 2013

Relativity by Peggy Martinez

What can I say?  It was better than the first!  So many questions were answered, thank God, but so many more came up.  There were quite a few twists and turns in the second installment of the Sage Hannigan, Time Warper series.

There were a few things that I mentioned to Peggy that I wanted to happen in this book, and when she told me I would be happy, I had no idea how close I was to actually getting everything I asked for!  

We gets lots more time with the yummy goodness of Mr. Black, also known as Sir Blackwell.  There are so many things I would do to that man... I am also proud to say that Sage stays true to her feelings, for the most part anyway, and that is something that is rare in books like this lately.


But, my God, the end!  Talk about a cliff hanger.  Well, not really a cliff hanger.  Ok, it is a cliff hanger.  So many things happen in this book that once you get to the end you are thinking that there surely isn't anything that will surprise you, and then BAM!  BAM! BAM!  And you're sitting, looking at the pages (screen?) with your mouth gaping open waiting to catch flies.

The next book in this series is not going to get here soon enough for this girl.  Thankfully, there is a novella available that I can read to tide me over, and another in the works (isn't Peggy so thoughtful?!).

The only thing about reading this book that I missed about the last was the clothes.  I missed reading about all of the amazing clothes that Sage got to wear in 1904.  I really hope we get to experience that again before the end of the series!

For information on the Author and how to contact her, visit my review for Contingency and scroll down below my review!

Buy Relativity on Amazon!

Friday, March 29, 2013

Contingency by Peggy Martinez

Synopsis:

Eighteen-year-old Sage Hannigan wants to get back to her own time, preferably one that hasn’t been destroyed by an underworld plot brewing in Edwardian-era South Carolina. How hard can it be?


All she has to do is:

1. Learn to use newly acquired warping skills to bend time to her will.
2. Take out a few rogue vampires.
3. Join an ancient secret society.
4. Figure out who is putting the time stream in jeopardy.
5. Find and maim whoever invented the corset.

Sage never asked to be chosen by the Druid Priestess, Amerach, to become a Warper and she never asked to have the future hanging on her shoulders or to warp a hundred years into the past. She certainly never asked to meet Dr. Aldwin Blake, who would make her question her desire to get back to her own time. But if she fails her mission, people will die, history will change, and the present she wishes to return to will be no more.

***

My Review

I love when an author can take something that is so common, such as a paranormal genre, and make it all their own.  Peggy Martinez has done just that!  She's added a new "preternatural" element, called a Warper, that basically bends time and can time travel.  I like that the Warpers cannot control the time travel, though.  They are taken where they are needed, when they are needed - literally.

When I first started reading this book it seemed to be a YA novel, however, it turned out to be more of a Mature YA (some very mild sexual content - no graphic details, but enough to sate your wants between some of the characters).  

And the ending!  Ahhh!  I could see it coming, I mean Sage could see it coming and was hoping it wouldn't happen.  But then it did, and at the worst possible moment!!  I was so heart broken!!

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book!  I read it in one sitting and cannot wait to read book two, Relativity, because I am dying to know what happened after the "cliff hanger" at the end of the story.  Don't worry, it's not a cliff hanger that is going to make you hate the book; but it will make you want to immediately buy the next in the series, because it's just that good.

***

Peggy Martinez is a homeschooling mom of one boy and four girls. She has been married to her soul mate, Omar, since January 2000. She enjoys reading, writing, soap making, all things aromatherapy, and Twizzlers- lots of Twizzlers. She dreams of one day owning a small homestead, raising some chickens along with her children, growing a large garden, and eventually taking a dream vacation to Greece. It isn't too far fetched to think you could happen upon her and her husband having a conversation about religion, political conspiracies, a zombie apocalypse, or gangster movies.



Stalk Peggy:

Buy Contingency on Amazon!

Wednesday, March 27, 2013

Limerence by Claire C. Riley

Synopsis:

One man's obsession could destroy them all. 

Despite her love for her fiancĂ©, Oliver, Mia Lawrence finds herself inexplicably drawn to Mr Breckt- the mysterious new owner of The Island. Her thoughts are constantly consumed with the handsome and powerful stranger. 

However, there is much more to him than she realises, something dangerous and supernatural.

Mr Breckt is used to getting what he wants, and now he wants Mia, at any cost. With his obsession spiralling out of control, he knows that time is running out. A war is coming. Blood will be shed, and lives will be lost, but he will have to rid himself of his obsession of Mia before it’s too late.

Mia and Oliver must now fight the very evil that threatens to come between them. If either of them fails, it will be more than their love for each other that will be lost.

Ultimately, all three will have to make a sacrifice that will change each other’s destiny forever. But will it be the right one?

My Review


First, this book is seriously one of the best horror/suspense novels I have read.  Second, I loved that there was still splashes of romance, but it wasn't overbearing and irritating, taking away from the actual plot.  Bravo! I absolutely loved it!  

Limerence, full of twists and turns, kept me guessing.  I couldn't figure out what was going on until it was revealed in the story, which is quite a feat.  I have a knack for guessing what the big plot twist will be, whether it is a book or a movie.  And what got me the most was the once we hit the plot's twist, I was so angry and heart broken; and then BAM!  She got me again!  I was fooled by Claire into thinking it was over.  I actually thought that I was wrong and that this book was going to be a stand alone novel, even thought I knew that it was the first part in a series.  

I loved that while the largest portion of the book was written in the first person point of view of Mia, we actually get to see the inner workings of our resident villain.  It was wonderful reading his twisted and tormented thoughts.  It almost made me feel sorry for him.  Almost...  But he is all kinds of dark and twisty, and there is no amount of sympathy left after finishing the story.  I am curious though; it was obvious that he did love Mia, albeit a weird way to love someone (possibly the only way he knew how?), but there seemed to be more to it than just that.  Once they are with the Queen, it's as if he felt the need to protect her...  I can't really get too far into it or it really will spoil the whole experience of the story.  So, once you've read it (that is a must, btw), email me so we can discuss the possibilities. And yes, they are endless!

I am now officially a huge fan of Claire's and cannot wait to see what she comes up with next!  Best debut novel I have read!

***

Claire C Riley, is a mother first, a wife second, but a writer at heart. 

Her first novel, Limerence, is a sexy, supernatural romance. She has been writing this book for over two years- all-be-it only in her head! 

It wasn't until September 2012 when she stumbled across the 'authonomy' site run by Harper Collins, that she decided to take the plunge and upload some of her work.

After some fantastic feedback, from some very talented writers, she wrote a little more. And then a little more still. Just over 100,000 words later, and Limerence was finally completed. It's a beautiful story, of love, lust and obsession, and the depths these emotions will make you sink to.  Claire likes to break boundaries with her writing, incorporating an old school style of horror and romance. Sexy and dark. (Think Bram Stokers Dracula, but for the 21st century!)

Claire is a mother to three amazing little girls who hold her heart. She hopes to make them proud, and show them that if you work hard and believe in yourself... then, as Cinderella once said... dreams really do come true.

Stalk Claire!


Buy Limerence on Amazon!

Monday, March 25, 2013

Star Cursed Blog Tour - Star Cursed (Curse of the Beast #2) by Ashley Lavering

Book Blurb:


Seventeen-year-old Tayla will never forget Beast’s fiery-venom spreading through her body like an infection. Now, with her best friend Chel’s help, she must find a human true love before the last petal falls from her enchanted rose or the full moon will transform her into a wolf forever.

But Tayla never expected that her biggest obstacle would come from inside—a wolf presence threatening to take her very soul. At every turn, the she-wolf exploits Tayla’s weaknesses and gains enough control to sabotage her dates. Tayla struggles to control her unruly wolf and her forbidden attraction to Beast. But can she resist his southern charm, the she-wolf’s attraction to his alluring scent, and still fall in love with a human?

Tangled in a web of wills, Tayla must risk everything to break the Curse of the Beast. With failure and possible death looming overhead, Tayla will do anything to find true love. But will one moon cycle be long enough to conquer her wolf and remain human? Or will she become a permanent member of Beast’s pack? Find out in the second installment in the Curse of the Beast series.

***

First, before you read Star Cursed, you should start with Curse of the Beast (Book 1) of the two part series.  These books are so wonderful!!  Very imaginative take on two very popular ideas: Werewolves and Beauty and the Beast.  It was not at all what I expected.  At first I didn't even realize that this was a twist on the ever popular (and my personal favorite) fairy tale.

You have your villain, who is also a senator's son.  You have our heroine, Tayla, who most of you would know as Bell.  And of course, "Beast."  

I read both books in a total of two days.  They were very easy to read, very few errors in formatting/grammar.  They were written so well that I couldn't put them down.  I could literally smell the things that Tayla smelled and feel everything she felt.

Do not let the fact that you think you know the story of Beauty and the Beast keep you from this book.  It is a completely different idea that was only stemmed from the original.  It really was quite remarkable and I could read both books again and still have a hard time tearing myself away from them!

***

A nomad at heart, I currently claim Nevada as my home. I have a wonderful husband and two young children that put up with my “writing time.” When she’s not pondering a spell that will magically calm the ferocious winds that plague the air around her, you can find her, with notepad in hand, frantically jotting down ideas in those short moments between caring for her girls and working full time at the Elko Institute for Academic Achievement.

Art and science have always been my yin and yang. Throughout my college career, I shifted between the two, but in the end I graduated with a Bachelors of Mathematics and Science from the University of Wyoming.

Charging into adventures and discovering something new has always been a passion of mine, but as a teenager I used to run screaming from a reading or writing assignment. Looking back, the irony isn’t lost on me. Now you can’t catch me without a book in hand or without an open word document. Every time a new idea pops into my mind my heart races and my hand twitch to write it. In that moment, I have my writer's high and pray it will sustain me through thousands of hours of revision.

Excerpt

Brayden held the door open for me as I climbed out of the car. I tried not to cringe seeing the movie house again, but I couldn’t stop my lips from pulling into a hard line. My wolf felt my unease and paced in my mind, adding to my nerves. I knew Brayden was different from Kyle. There was no comparison, but that night still haunted me, and seeing the place where Kyle had assaulted me left me a bit unnerved.
     “Are you okay?” Brayden’s hand rested lightly on my lower back.
     “Umm.” I shook the bad memories and turned a smile on him. “Yeah. Sorry. It’s been awhile since I was here last.” Like months. He looked confused, so I lied, “It just looks different. That’s all. Why don’t we get our tickets?”
     “All right.” He still looked unconvinced, but let it go.
     We arrived at the ticket booth and both spoke at the same time, “Two for Lights and Brimfire.”
     “Oh, I’m sorry.” I looked off to the side of him. “I just thought, that well, since I asked you and all…”
     He chuckled. “Tayla, it’s okay.” I looked up at him and the smile on his face tugged mine back into place. He continued, “And I always pay, even if the girl asked me.” He winked at me and my knees wobbled from the fuzzy warmth creeping into my stomach. A rumble of agitation pushed through from my wolf, but it only gave me more confidence that this guy was it.
     We picked the seats right in the very middle. To me they were the best seats in the house. I wasn’t sure about the movie. It was some war movie. I felt bad that Beast had to be subjected to it. At least he hadn’t had to run here. He had insisted on drive his own truck.
     I felt Beast slink in behind us. He was a few rows up, wearing his trademark black trench coat and kept his head low. As people filled into the theater, they gave him a wide berth. I didn’t blame them. Honestly, he looked like the grim reaper or something.
     The lights dimmed in the theater and the previews started. I offered Brayden a licorice. He smiled, and my heart stuttered. Even in the dark, his smile lit the world.
     “Thanks for coming,” I whispered.
     “No problem.” He grabbed another licorice. “Thanks for the invite.”
     “Hey.” I shouldered him. “That’s my licorice,” I teased.
     He shoulder knocked me back. “Then you shouldn’t have given me the first one. Now I’ll eat the whole bag.”
     I made a great show of hiding them in my jacket and we both chuckled. He was easy that way. I didn’t feel like I had to be someone else. Not like with Kyle.
     Why am I thinking of him?
     I mentally scolded myself and relaxed back in my chair, leaning close to Brayden. He didn’t scoot away and hope warmed my chest. I was careful to only breathe through my mouth and had practiced clamping down on my wolf senses, not wanting a repeat of the gym scene. The heat of his arm against mine was comforting, and the way he periodically gave me sideways glances made my heart flutter.
     The movie started but I was too focused on Brayden to watch. That was until the battle scenes demanded my attention. My wolf was riveted to the carnage on the screen and, to my horror, was licking her lips. I almost dry heaved right then. I shrunk from the movie and from her. I covered my eyes with my hands, praying it would stop her blood lust and my rolling stomach. I’m sure I whimpered or something equally as embarrassing, because Brayden lifted the armrest and pulled me close. I snuggled into his chest.
     “We can leave,” he whispered, tickling my ear.
     “I don’t want you to miss your movie,” I responded, trying not to breathe as I was happily surrounded by his strong arms.
     He squeezed me close. “All right.”
     My nose pressed up against his shoulder, a potential happy place for me if it wasn’t for my wolf. I was too close and could taste the tang of animal blood on my tongue. I quickly closed my mouth. When I was forced to breathe, the smell of farm animals was strong, but not as strong as the metallic smell of blood. It all reminded me of the first time I met him.
     The smell overwhelmed my senses and I felt my control slip. I closed my eyes, focusing on restraining the wolf struggling against her cage. She wasn’t going to ruin this for me. I refused to pull away, but the thought of dead animals was too disturbing, and the smell was stronger than that day in the gym. My mind wandered from its task. Had he killed an animal today? But the horror that should have washed over me was replaced with a heady need. I breathed deeply and pressed my body closer, quickly losing control. The smell was delightfully tantalizing and my stomach grumbled, transporting me to a childhood memory of Aunt Lily’s jello cake.
     My mouth watered, as I pictured the cake. It smelled so real that I could almost taste it. I opened my mouth and skimmed the cake with my lips, biting down softly. My teeth met more resistance than I was expecting. I was about to bite down harder when large fingers slid between my teeth preventing me from my dessert. I growled and threw my head back, only to have Beast’s strong arms capture me in a vice grip around my torso.
     “What the—?”
     Brayden’s voice snapped me out of my delusion of a childhood dessert. My eyes flew open and I took in his disgusted expression as he rubbed his neck. His hand came away wet with my saliva. His gaze darted to his left shoulder where his shirt was several shades darker, thanks to my drool. Horror washed through me, but before I could utter a word of apology, Beast tugged me out of my seat and hauled me out of the theater. I could still hear Chel and Brayden.
     “Oh,” Chel said. “Eww. I’m so sorry. Maybe her blood sugar was low.”
     “What?” Brayden’s disbelieving voice sliced me. How would he love me now?
     “You know people do all sorts of weird stuff when their blood sugar is low,” Chel explained.
     “Oh, like biting me?”
     I could imagine his eyes narrowing in anger.
     “Umm,” Chel hesitated, obviously surprised I had actually bit him. “Was it just a nip? I don’t see any broken skin.”
     That news sent a trickle of relief over me. At least, I hadn’t drawn blood.
     “That isn’t the point. She bit and slobbered all over me. My animals don’t even get me this bad!” he hissed back. His voice sounded like he had stood and was walking out of the theater as well. Chel didn’t respond. I’m sure she was trying to process the whole thing.
     “And who was that guy?” Brayden asked.
     “Oh, just a friend.”
     “She has some stalker friend to pull her from dates when she starts biting them?”
     “No.” She giggled nervously. “I guess you smell so good she just wanted a taste.”
     I cringed, mortified even more than I already was. Way to go, Chel, now I really want to hide. The night air hit my face as we exited the theater house. Beast strode a few yards more before depositing me against the wall, where I slumped down to the ground and hugged my knees.
     Almost too low for me to hear, Chel’s date, Dalyn, responded, “You can take a taste of me anytime you like, Chel.”
     “You’re all nuts,” Brayden said.
     “Wait, I’ll drive you home,” Chel called after him, her voice getting louder as they neared.
     “Don’t bother. I’m safer walking.” He pushed open the door. Our eyes met for a moment before he stormed off.
     I hung my head. “Oh, Beast,” I whispered. “What have I done?”
     To my surprise, he chuckled. “So you nipped him?” He shrugged his shoulders but the mirth was still there.
     I glowered at him. “Then why did you swoop down and carry me off if you didn’t think it was a big deal?”
     “The nip wasn’t what I was worried about, but the real bite you were going to give him next would’ve drawn blood, and then it was unlikely you’d be able to stop.” His lips hitched upward. “That would have really made your wolf crazy.”
     “That meddlesome she-devil!” I ground out between my teeth. “She ruins everything.”
     “If you’d learned to control her better, you would’ve smelled the animals on him and stayed far away from him in the first place.” His eyes twinkled as if laughing at an inside joke.
     Before I could retort, Chel came out of the doors, her date trailing behind her. “Dalyn, will you start the car for me and bring it around?” She tossed him her keys before he responded.
     “Sure.” He eyed me with a mischievous glint. I felt Beast vibrate with an inaudible growl. I agreed. Dalyn’s look sent chills up my spine, like he was assessing a hooker or something. Yuck! I was definitely telling Chel to stay away from that one.
     With Dalyn in the SUV and out of hearing, Chel demanded answers. “What just happened?”
I scowled at my knees. “He must’ve slaughtered a cow or something yesterday because his stench was so much stronger today, and my wolf got the better of me.”
     “But you bit him?”
     “It’s her! I would never do that. Eww. He must think I’m a freak.” I groaned, placing my head in my hands. “He was so perfect, too.”
     Chel patted my shoulder, but it wasn’t soothing; nothing was, with this wolf in my head.
     “You know what the worst part is?” I ask, looking up to see Chel raise her eyebrow. “She tricked me. She used my memory of Aunt Lily’s jello cake to convince me to bite him. I didn’t even know she could do that!”
     “Jello?” Chel asked.
     Beast cleared his voice.
     “What?” I demanded.
     “That isn’t exactly true,” he said. I lifted a disbelieving eyebrow at him. “Just hear me out. The smell, it was delicious to you?”
     “Only after she tricked me into thinking it was cake. If I had consciously thought of it as blood, animal, whatever, I never…” I couldn’t say the rest.
     “That is where you are wrong.” Beast paused until I looked up at him. “To your wolf, animal scent and blood are delicious, and so the best way you could understand those feelings was to relate it to cake.” His voice lost its teacher tone when he got to the last word and turned more playful. “It must’ve been some delectable cake. Maybe my blood lust would curb a bit if you made it for me.” He winked.
     “Shut up.” I smacked him in the leg, but couldn’t resist the smile that spread across my lips. I had my wolfish friend back and was determined to side-step as many rift-creating topics as possible.
Chel bit her bottom lip. “I’m not sure I can fix this, Tay. A little drool I could explain away, but…”
My frown was back. I’d lost Brayden. “Thanks for trying. I guess we should stay away from cowboys.” I gave Chel a rueful grin.
     Chel puffed out air and rubbed her temples. “Friday night is a cancel then.”
     “Oh?” Why did things always go to crap?
     “Yeah, one of Brayden’s roping buddies. But after he hears Brayden’s story, he’ll be canceling before I get a chance to do it.” She gave my shoulder a squeeze. “I’ll find a replacement.”
     “Ah!” I buried my face in my hands. “Why did she have to bite him? Stupid wolf.” She growled at me and nipped at my mind, causing a throbbing headache.
     Beast crouched down to my level and tucked a finger under my chin. His touch held soothing warmth, but I fought it. I deserved to feel the crushing weight of my actions. The pressure on my chin increased until I could no longer resist his strength. My face tilted up to him, but I refused to look him in the eyes. At least, in that I still had the power to defy.
“Stupid is the last word I’d use to describe you.” As if by its own accord, my gaze lifted and was met by the warmth coming from his eyes. His thumb grazed my jaw, and both my wolf and I trembled ever so slightly. He noticed my reaction, and his eyes lit with mischief. “And if he had been a werewolf, I guarantee you would’ve gotten a different response.”
     I couldn’t breathe. What he implied was too direct to misinterpret. A horn blasted, and I jerked, breaking the spell. Beast lifted his head to look at Dalyn, giving me the needed release to breathe.



On to the Good Stuff

Click on the Picture to go to Lady Amber's Blog
and enter to win these prizes on the Rafflecopter!

Stalk Ashley here:

Buy Curse of the Beast and Star Cursed on Amazon!

Sunday, March 24, 2013

Insatiable (A Sydney Rye Novel #3) by Emily Kimelman

I cannot express how much I enjoyed reading this book!  It is the first of Emily Kimelman's books that I have read and I will definitely be reading more.

First, I loved that this is the third book in a series, but was able to read it as a stand alone novel.  There was enough back story told throughout the book so there was no confusion about what repeat characters were discussing about the past.

Second, there was not a moment in the book where I felt bored with the story between the action scenes, which I found very exciting.  Emily had no problems keeping me wanting more and I have to say I was sad to go to sleep last night without knowing what happened next.  I really had to force myself to stop reading or I would have continued on through the night and been a zombie all day trying to take care of my kids.

I love Sydney Rye. She was once a normal person, Joy, who decided to avenger her brother's death (this happened, I'm assuming, in the first book - either way I will be finding out by reading the rest of this series.

The dialog between the characters seemed natural and I could imagine myself having those same conversations in the situations they were in.  I love a good action/mystery and I have to say that I loved this one even more because one bad-ass woman was calling all the shots.  And some of the situations that she was put in actually made me laugh out loud.

I would recommend this book to anyone 18 and up because of the violence and language.

~~~

BLURB:

INSATIABLE is the third novel in my Sydney Rye Series of dark murder mysteries. This series feature a strong female protagonist and her canine best friend. It is recommended for the 18+ who enjoy some violence, don't mind dirty language, and are up for a dash of sex. Not to mention an awesome, rollicking good mystery!

INSATIABLE begins with private detective Sydney Rye living a simple, disciplined life in London, but when a dangerous man from her past calls, Rye finds she cannot turn him away. Robert Maxim explains that the daughter of a powerful friend has gone missing and he wants Rye to find her. In exchange he offers her something she had given up hope of ever having; freedom from her past.

With her dog, Blue, at her side, Rye meets up with her new partner, a handsome man she's not sure she can trust. Heading for Mexico City, they go undercover, posing as husband and wife. After meeting with the bereaved parents, Rye starts to sense that there is more going on than just a missing girl. But it isn't until they arrive in the Yucatan Peninsula, hot on the girl's trail in Paradise, that all hell breaks loose. Sydney has to reach out for help from old friends and deal with the consequences of her past, if she's going to find the girl and keep them all alive.

~~~

Emily Kimelman lives on a boat in the Hudson Valley with her husband, Sean and their dog Kinsey (named after Sue Grafton's Kinsey Millhone). Kimelman has a passion for traveling and spends as much time as possible in the pursuit of adventure.

Her Sydney Rye series feature a strong female protagonist and her canine best friend. It is recommended for the 18+ who enjoy some violence, don't mind dirty language, and are up for a dash of sex. Not to mention an awesome, rollicking good mystery!


Stalk Emily


Sunday, March 17, 2013

Dark Spirits by Rebekkah Ford

I was so excited to read the second book in the Beyond the Eyes series!  Dark Spirits starts off shortly after Beyond the Eyes ends.  I was a little sad that we didn't get to follow Paige through her training, but it was nice reading about her daydreaming about little moments that she shared with Nathan.

I think my favorite thing about this book is all of the plot twists!  I love the secrets that were brought to light, answering questions left in the last book; but, I love that in answering those questions even more arose.

Paige has grown a lot in this series already and has a ways to go, but I love that she is finally becoming more independent.  She isn't letting anyone push her around anymore.  She needs answers and she is bound and determined to get them.

I find her twist on a regular paranormal genre refreshing.  She makes her own rules and forms a world all her own.

I cannot wait to see what is next for this group of wonderful and eclectic characters!!

***

Rebekkah Ford grew up in a family that dealt with the paranormal. Her parents’ Charles and Geri Wilhelm were the Directors of the UFO Investigators League in Fairfield, Ohio, back in the 1970s. They also investigated ghost hauntings and Bigfoot sightings in addition to UFO’s. Growing up in this type of environment and having the passion for writing is what drove Rebekkah at an early age to write stories dealing with the paranormal. At one point in her life, she thought she wanted to be a journalist, and although she enjoyed writing articles, she quickly discovered her real passion was writing fiction. Her fascination with the paranormal is what led her to write the ‘Beyond the Eyes’ series.

Stalk Rebekkah Here:

The Camp by Karice Bolton

It is no secret that I am quite a fan of Karice Bolton's work.  I have read every single one of her books, and loved each and every one of them!  When I found out that she was writing this stand alone novel called The Camp I was actually really excited.  She writes paranormal romance and urban fantasy novels and couldn't wait to see her branch out to something different.  And I'm happy to say that she did a fantastic job writing this suspenseful gem!

I generally don't even read suspense novels because they don't really surprise me.  They don't make me hear noises in the house or feel like I'm being watched.  There are very few authors that can cause that kind of reaction from me - Stephen King sometimes, Edgar Allen Poe always.  Those are some hefty shoes to fill.  While I don't think anyone will ever be able to raise the hairs on my arms quite like Mr. Poe, Karice did make me feel a little uncomfortable while I was sitting on my porch, in the dark, smoking and reading.  The wind would blow and my head would jerk in the direction of the leaves blowing down the street sounding like footsteps of someone trying to sneak up on me!

I grew up in the outdoors: camping, fishing, canoeing, spelunking; and I'm thinking that Karice did too.  She painted the scenery so well I felt I could smell the wet trees while walking in the woods.  It was a wonderful place to go to - while I wasn't worried about some lunatic jumping out at me!

I would definitely recommend this book to anyone and everyone.  Nothing grotesque, nothing too adult for a teen to read, a little romance, a bit of suspense, and lots of fun!  It was such a nice change of pace for me.  She also wrapped up the ending quite well.  The only thing I would complain about is that I didn't get enough Liam!  I'm hoping that is because she is going to write another book perhaps?  Maybe dig a bit into his past?  Pretty, pretty please? ;-)

***

I have lived in the Northwest my entire life and love just about everything Washington has to offer, including the rain!  I graduated from our local university and enjoyed every minute of the writing and literature courses I took.  Rather than follow the norm, I followed my heart and decided not to get a business degree.  I obtained a B.A. focusing on Literature and History and have been writing ever since.

I have two beautiful English bulldogs and a gorgeous husband who just happens to be my high school sweetheart - Yes,  I am a bit infatuated!!!


Stalk Karice here:

Buy The Camp and other novels by Karice Bolton on Amazon.

Wednesday, March 13, 2013

Don't Kill Dinner Release Day!!

Check it out!  Don't Kill Dinner has released EARLY!  That's right, bitches!  Go get your copy!!

Written by Jennifer Martinez, this book is an Urban Fantasy/New Adult Paranormal (Mature audiences only. Mild to moderate swearing and damn sexy sexual situations). And in case you have missed my review, here is the synopsis:


There are three rules when it comes to being a vampire in New Orleans:

1) Don’t kill dinner. 
2) Don’t feed from people you know. 
3) Don’t tell anyone. 

Not too hard, right? Wrong. Kenna is a new vampire filled with a passion that has turned into an uncontrollable lust for blood.

 Will Arthur be able to stop her feeding spree before the coven comes after her or is Kenna beyond saving?

Arthur has been watching Kenna for years, wanting her to try her own hand in life before he gave her the ultimate proposal. Now that she has accepted, will his love be enough to save her?


***

There is a short story available for DKD called Actor for Hire.  I would suggest buying it (only $0.99 on Amazon) and read it first.  Otherwise, you may be a little bit confused at the beginning on DKD.

***

The first day proceeds of Do

n’t Kill Dinner will be donated to Rain Pet Rescue of Fort Myers. They take in animals from High Kill shelters throughout Florida. This is Jennifer's adoption agency of choice and she is a proud supporter of adopting your family members.

Rain Links


There are lots of giveaways in conjunction with the release of Don't Kill Dinner.  Check out the Rafflecopter on my blog at the Don't Kill, Dinner Party here.  Then scroll down and enter this one as well!


Also, don't forget to join the fun at the Don't Kill Dinner Release Party on Facebook and follow the blog tour!

About Author Jennifer Martinez

One day while slaving away at her monotonous day job, Jennifer Martinez found her true calling. Like a firefly in the night, the pages called to her. Once she caught the bug there was no stopping it. Her fingers flew furiously across the keyboard winding tales of love, mystery and anger. She snapped out of her reverie to find herself still behind the desk but at least she knew who she was… Author Jennifer Martinez.

I like to think of myself as a beautiful conundrum. When I am not writing, I can be found surrounded by my amazing family and 4 dogs or volunteering at a local animal rescue. I love who I am and don’t mind at all when I get strange looks from people. I am a tattoo covered, child and animal lover who looks forward to destroying peoples preconceived notions of what “someone like me” would be interested in. You only live life once… you may as well make it interesting.

I love to get lost in a good book and hope that everyone will get lost in mine.

Go stalk her!


Monday, March 11, 2013

Don't Kill Dinner by Jennifer Martinez - Review


Official Blurb:

There are three rules when it comes to being a vampire in New Orleans:

1) Don’t kill dinner.
2) Don’t feed from people you know.
3) Don’t tell anyone.

Not too hard, right? Wrong. Kenna is a new vampire filled with a passion that has turned into an uncontrollable lust for blood.

 Will Arthur be able to stop her feeding spree before the coven comes after her or is Kenna beyond saving?

Arthur has been watching Kenna for years, wanting her to try her own hand in life before he gave her the ultimate proposal. Now that she has accepted, will his love be enough to save her?

***

I have to say I am quite impressed with Jennifer Martinez right now!  Don't Kill Dinner is a nice change to the normal vampire books that are circulating lately.  First, there are no sparkles.  Not in the Edward Cullen sense anyway.  Second, they can eat!  I would probably take up someone's offer to be turned if I knew I could indulge in anything I want, taste the flavors even better than before, and not gain a pound.  Seriously, this fat could would jump on that band wagon in a heart beat.  Third, the conflict in this book isn't your run of the mill problems.  There isn't a love triangle making me want to roll my eyes every time the leading lady has to tell herself that she loves her boyfriend and ignore the feelings she has about another man.  I don't know how much more of that I can take.  

It was a very easy read, plenty of action, and fast paced.  I read this book in one sitting (except for potty breaks of course) and will probably read it again before the next book comes out.

Oh, did I mention the very lickable Arthur??  That's because I'm keeping him all to myself!

Well done, Jen! ♥

Be sure you check out the Don't Kill, Dinner Party - lots of goodies to be had! 

Saturday, March 9, 2013

Fade to Silver by Catherine Converse

Blurb:

Adie is forced into new territory when her dream overlaps with a complete stranger in a different part of the country, while Dannika escapes from Research, not accepting the new assets in her brain that will change the way she works forever. Despite their separation, their lives merge once again to solve a major corporate conspiracy case, where one man has already lost his life, and Adie has set interference in motion on the next victim in line. But the corporation holds something that is so special, they aren’t the only ones that are willing to kill for it.

With two young men battling for her affection, Adie struggles to keep focus on the case. Once again, Adie and Dannika become the targets, as they become identified as obstacles for those who are after the corporation’s unique discovery. Until it becomes clear that only one person has the power to stop the chain reaction that has begun. And only one question will reveal that person. Who holds the key?

About Catherine Converse

Catherine Converse lives with her husband and four children in beautiful Montana. She squeaked by with a Business Degree at Carroll College, only to realize (while glancing back at transcripts years later) that the only A’s she got were in Writing and Literature classes.

She wishes there were more hours in the day (who doesn't, right), and that her mind would just shut down sometimes.

If not writing, or researching, she would really like to be outside with her family, and preferably on her snowboard. Or just petting their horses.

Grateful for such a blessed life, she just hopes to bring stories of all kinds to life, and enjoyment to those who read them.

Catherine owns and operates Golden Dot Publishing, an independent publishing company.

Catherine's Links

Fade to Silver Links

Tuesday, March 5, 2013

Insatiable by Emily Kimelman


BLURB:

INSATIABLE is the third novel in my Sydney Rye Series of dark murder mysteries. This series feature a strong female protagonist and her canine best friend. It is recommended for the 18+ who enjoy some violence, don't mind dirty language, and are up for a dash of sex. Not to mention an awesome, rollicking good mystery!

INSATIABLE begins with private detective Sydney Rye living a simple, disciplined life in London, but when a dangerous man from her past calls, Rye finds she cannot turn him away. Robert Maxim explains that the daughter of a powerful friend has gone missing and he wants Rye to find her. In exchange he offers her something she had given up hope of ever having; freedom from her past.

With her dog, Blue, at her side, Rye meets up with her new partner, a handsome man she's not sure she can trust. Heading for Mexico City, they go undercover, posing as husband and wife. After meeting with the bereaved parents, Rye starts to sense that there is more going on than just a missing girl. But it isn't until they arrive in the Yucatan Peninsula, hot on the girl's trail in Paradise, that all hell breaks loose. Sydney has to reach out for help from old friends and deal with the consequences of her past, if she's going to find the girl and keep them all alive.

***

Excerpt:

Around the next bend a chicken was in the road. Jimmy saw it and swerved into a rut to avoid it. It was a wild, out-of-control move and I grabbed at the door trying to steady myself. The Jeep jerked down and then up again as Jimmy powered us out of the ditch and back onto the road. "What the fuck!" I yelled.

"There was a chicken."

"Next time fucking hit the chicken!"

That's exactly what the guy in the black Jeep did. I turned around to see the feathers exploding with a mix of blood and guts against the guy's grill. He drove through the chicken into the shade of a tree and I saw him. I saw Blane. He was wearing wrap-around sunglasses - the kind douche bags think look cool. His mouth was a straight line, his face made of stone.

I rested my new gun on the shoulder of my seat and tried to steady my aim as we raced back past the Home Depot. Jimmy swerved around other cars, at times facing oncoming traffic, to further our escape. It was impossible to get a clear shot. I turned back around as we crested a hill and we could see the town below us.

Traffic became congested as we got closer to town. I turned around and saw that Blane was stuck several cars behind us. There was no way he could fire off any rounds with all these people around. We stopped at a red light and I waved to Blane. He raised a gun and I dropped down in my seat as I heard a window shatter. It wasn't our car but the one right behind us.

***

Emily Kimelman lives on a boat in the Hudson Valley with her husband, Sean and their dog Kinsey (named after Sue Grafton's Kinsey Millhone). Kimelman has a passion for traveling and spends as much time as possible in the pursuit of adventure.

Her Sydney Rye series feature a strong female protagonist and her canine best friend. It is recommended for the 18+ who enjoy some violence, don't mind dirty language, and are up for a dash of sex. Not to mention an awesome, rollicking good mystery!


Links


Emily will be awarding a hand blown pint glass that her husband (a third generation glassblower) made for the launch of her first novel, UNLEASHED, to a randomly drawn commenter during the tour.  The more you comment, the better your chances to win!  Check out other stops here.


Keeping Never by C.M. Stunich


I feel whole and healed.  My wounds have closed up and scabbed over, and I am now able to move on with my life and get my hopefully ever after.  As Never Say Never comes to a close in Keeping Never I feel at peace.  It may seem weird, but it's true.

In Tasting Never, I told you about my sordid past, all my dark skeletons in my closet.  I felt compelled to, as if Ty forced me to face my demons himself - he shook sense into me and I was able to open up.  Then I started the healing process when reading Finding Never.  I learned to love the sick'ning  ;-) C.M. Stunich and felt as though we've been friends our entire lives.  This series makes you feel like you can see deep into her soul and know that she's faced a lot and has come out of it shining her healing light on the world.

And now, finally, after what seemed like far too long, Ty allows us to return the favor.  He gets to pour his bleeding soul out to us while we listen, allowing all of that toxic waste to seep from his body and set him free.  Of course, while I was prepared for exactly what his story tells us, I was still shocked and felt sick.  I cried for him and wanted nothing but to hug him and run my fingers through his hair. I wanted to tell him that everything is going to be ok and that he would survive and come out of it with a happily ever after.  I wanted to slap a bitch!  I wanted to grab her by the hair and slam her face into pavement.  I wanted to grab her by the throat and suck any happiness that she may have had in her and leave her to suffer for the years that he suffered.

Wooo, sorry about that.  Since I have had kids, certain things really make the mama bear surface.

It was so refreshing reading this series.  I loved that they were just broken pieces of a puzzle that would only fit together, but with no others.  I loved that they were far from perfect, but perfect in spite of that.  They show you that regardless of how deep you fall, you can still climb back up out of that hole.  I have to stop writing now, otherwise I'll start crying again and my nose is a little raw from blowing it so damn much!

Actually, I have one more thing to say to my biggest girl crush - Thank you.  Thank you for writing this series.  Thank you for being brave enough to shove ugliness into peoples faces and make it beautiful.  Thank you for reminding me to never lose hope, no matter how hard things get.  I heart the fuck out of you ♥

About the Author

C.M. Stunich was raised under a cover of fog in the area known simply as Eureka, CA. A mysterious place, this strange, arboreal land nursed Caitlin's (yes, that's her name!) desire to write strange fiction novels about wicked monsters, magical trains, and Nemean Lions (Google it!). She currently enjoys drag queens, having too many cats, and tribal bellydance.

Always a fan of the indie scene and 'sticking it to the man,' Ms. Stunich decided to take the road less traveled and forgo the traditional publishing route. You can be assured though that she received several rejections as to ensure her proper place in the world of writers before taking up a friend's offer to start a publishing company. Sarian Royal was born, and Ms. Stunich's books slowly transformed from mere baking chocolate to full blown tortes with hand sculpted fondant flowers.

C.M. is a writer obsessed with delivering the very best and scours her mind on a regular basis to select the most unusual stories for the outside world.

Ms. Stunich can be reached via e-mail or by post and loves to hear from her readers. Ms. Stunich also wrote this biography and has no idea why she decided to refer to herself in the third person.

Visit Her!

Happy reading and carpe diem!




Monday, March 4, 2013

Memories of Murder by Lara Nance


BLURB:

When Maeve McKenna renounces her witch powers and accepts a low-key nurse practitioner position at a Virginia retirement community, the last thing she expects is a suicide her first day on the job.
     
As the town's sexy sheriff, Paul Sutton, starts looking into the tragic death of his father's friend, Maeve can't help but get involved--with both the case and him. Their informal investigation unveils an old journal that connects the ruins of a nearby asylum and long-forgotten cemetery with the shiny new retirement community's memory unit--and Maeve's Alzheimer's patients.
     
Maeve senses a sinister presence in the old asylum, calling to the patients, but in order to stop it from killing again, she must first conquer some demons of her own and reclaim the magic she's denied herself.

Excerpt:

She imagined the thoughts that must be running through his head. She had to tell him everything now. If she didn’t, he would be dead in the next few days. He needed protection.

She stood up. “Want a glass of wine? This is going to be a long conversation.”

“Since I was just nearly killed, how about some whisky?” He fell back against the sofa. Liadan put her paws on his chest and licked his face. 

Maeve went into the kitchen, trying to figure out how she’d gotten her powers back. It dawned on her that the morning after the Gems had arrived, her tea was not in its regular spot on the counter. She’d assumed her mother had only been cleaning, but apparently she’d also switched the contents of the jar to non-spelled tea.

She reached into the cabinet for the tea container and looked at it, shaking her head, then laughed. Never had she been so glad for the Gems meddling in her life. She threw it in the trash and returned to the living room with glasses, red wine, and a small bottle of George Dickel missing a few sips. “Here you go.”

He took the whiskey and tossed back a shot, then poured another glass, which he held between his hands. “So, what is it that tried to kill me and my father today?”

“You’re not going to believe me at first, but if you’ll hear me out, I think I have a pretty good case.”

He gestured with one hand for her to begin.

“Everything I’ve seen and heard, all the information in the journal, points to the presence of an evil spirit. I believe it’s the spirit of Dr. Colton Carterage.”

Paul stared at her for several moments. “You’re serious.”

“Completely.” She poured herself a glass of red wine from the freshly opened bottle, and sat in the chair across from him. A tingle of energy floated in the air. She recognized a witch cat at work. She tried desperately not to laugh at Liadan working her little cat magic on him, licking his face, nuzzling his chest, pushing her paws against his arm. He didn’t know what was happening, but darling LiLi was removing the mists of doubt from Paul’s eyes.  

Maeve explained about patients in the dementia unit seeing ghosts of people described in the book. She told him about the white deer and why the limb had fallen. When she came to the part she dreaded most, she looked at LiLi and the cat complied. She curled up in his lap, purring, increasing the intensity of her witchy magic to ease his believing. 

“There’s one more thing you need to know. My mother, my aunts…and me…we’re witches.”

Author Bio:

Lara Nance grew up and lived in many cities throughout the South. She loves to write in a variety of genres within the scope of women’s fiction. But the basis of all her stories is a tale that will entertain and intrigue.

If you want to escape and lose yourself in a novel, you’ve come to the right place. Choose your genre and settle in to be entertained. From thrilling mysteries and steampunk tales, to paranormal romance and adventure, Lara’s willing to explore a variety of compelling stories full of danger and suspense, with a touch of romance.

Having been on the fencing team in college and now living on a sailboat convinces her that she was a pirate in another life, or possibly kin to Errol Flynn… However, due to the unfortunate demise of the romantic pirates of the past, she lives out her fantasies, thrills and adventures in her stories.

Currently docked in Norfolk, Virginia (until the wind changes) Lara enjoys living on her sailboat and spends time reading, of course writing, indulging a variety of artistic endeavors, cooking and sailing with her husband, Joe and their Yorkie, Rio.

***
Make sure you get your copy of Memories of Murder, on sale for only $0.99 from March 4th - March 8th!  Leave Lara a comment - one randomly drawn commenter will win a $50 Amazon gift card during the blog tour.  And, as an added bonus, she will award a signed cover flat at each stop!  Make sure you stop by Goddess Fish Promotions to check the tour schedule, the more you comment, the better your chances at winning!

Stalk the Author



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...