Tuesday, February 26, 2013

The Promise by Kim Carmichael


Demon Dolan Ciar exists on three simple words: desire, denial, and destruction. Every four years, he is allowed one night of earthly passion to punish a deserving female. By the time he is finished, his victims are left as willing receptacles for demons yet to come.
 Since she was four, a demon has been the only constant in Leora Desmond's life. He taught her how to seize control, to never give up, and to take whatever she wanted. At twenty-four, her self-centered existence is focused on one thing. She wants Dolan, and she won't be dissuaded.
 A mistake brought Dolan to Leora. A promise bound him to her. Returning once again to ask for his freedom, he is faced with Leora demanding to be his next conquest. The ultimate retribution would be to take from her the ultimate symbol of her selfishness.
 Now, Dolan must decide if he can doom her to life in living hell or face his own set of unearthly consequences, while Leora must choose between her pleasure and her heart.
 The Promise blurs the line between good and evil, desire and love, and promises and commitment.

***
Check out Closure and get stalk Kim here.

Excerpt -

He tilted his head. "You look older."

She forced herself to blink and to remember her goal. "Then I assume I am at last old enough to be a fit for a demon." She stepped forward, stopping less than a foot away from him. The back of her throat dried out, and she swallowed.

He put his hand to his chin, his gaze taking her in. "This old song and dance. When will you use the brains you have and leave it alone?"

His words hit her, but rather than retreating, she moved closer. The energy, the tingle, the wafts of spice encompassed her and lured her toward him. "Never."

"You were smart last time. Why don't you release me so I can do what I came here for." He glanced down at her and then shifted his focus beyond her. "I have needs as well."

"Tonight I am the one you came here for." The mention of his last visit stung, but she willed herself to keep going. She ran her fingers up the buttons of his shirt. "You always told me to take control."

He shook his head. "A lesson you learned well."

She reached up and clenched his collar in her fist. "I let you go last time, but tonight I am the one you need."

He grabbed her wrist. "I spared you before. Never forget that."

She stared right into his eyes. No weakness was allowed tonight. "It's me, Dolan. Me, or you can be celibate until the decade I do you the favor of dying. I don't care about your pain." She tensed, preparing herself for his retaliation.

"I thought I taught you better than to make demands of a demon." He pressed his palm to the side of her face.

Heat radiated through her body, sending a warning to every one of her nerve endings. "A demon who comforts a child is a failure of a demon in my book."

His jaw tightened. "That was a mistake. An oversight."

***

Kim Carmichael began writing eight years ago when her need for graphic sex scenes and love of happy endings inspired her to create her own.  She has a weakness for bad boys and techno geeks, and married her own computer whiz after he proved he could keep her all her gadgets running.  When not writing, she can usually be found slathered in sunscreen trolling Los Angeles and helping top doctors build their practices.








Closure by Kim Carmichael - Cover Reveal and Sale


There's always the one…

He's one person throughout life you think about every so often, the one who leaves his unique indelible mark on you, the person with whom you need closure.

For Margaret Collins that person was Mike Taylor.

After he broke her heart seventeen years ago, she left everything she knew and reinvented herself. With a new home, a new look and a new name, Riley Williams is now an up and coming journalist given the assignment to interview a Mike Taylor. She never suspected he would be her Mike Taylor.

With Mike having no hint of Riley's true identity, she must decide if she will make him pay for sins he doesn't remember committing, or if she can wipe away the past and be with the one man who she has always wanted?

Can she finally have closure?

***
Are you all as excited as I am to read Closure by Kim Carmichael?  I have read one of her books and absolutely LOVED it, and cannot wait to get my hands on this!  I simply love her writing style and wit! Here is a little bit about our author of the day:

Kim Carmichael began writing eight years ago when her need for graphic sex scenes and love of happy endings inspired her to create her own.  She has a weakness for bad boys and techno geeks, and married her own computer whiz after he proved he could keep her all her gadgets running.  When not writing, she can usually be found slathered in sunscreen trolling Los Angeles and helping top doctors build their practices.





Did I mention that Closure, eBook format, is on sale for $0.99?  Yes ma'am!

Stalk Kim Carmichael




Friday, February 22, 2013

The Difference Between Night and Day by Melisa Turner Lee

Let me start by saying that you should not disregard this book because it is Christian Fiction.  I wasn't sure how I was going to like it because I was brought up in a Christian home and as I got older there was a lot about "Christians" that I did not like.  I think that a lot of people believe in God, or some other higher being, but a lot of those believers do not LIVE the life they preach to others.  This is the main reason I generally tend to shy away from anything religious.

What I loved about this book was that it shows the inner struggle that people who do actually try to live a virtuous life experience.  The author translates those feelings into words very well.  And while I prefer to not read Christian Fiction, I did enjoy this book!  It wasn't over done or in your face, and it was tasteful.

It was very Twilight-esque.  Nathanial, our resident vampire, was tormented, believing that he was damned, but Lilly let him see the light in himself.


Thursday, February 21, 2013

Caged Heat by Milly Taiden - Cover Reveal!

Blurb:

After five years travelling through third world countries to teach impoverished children, Samira Suarez has returned home to Black Meadows. What Sam didn’t expect was to be instantly overwhelmed by the desire to be with the one man she’s wanted since she was a teen, Riel Karven.

Riel has been patiently waiting for Sam’s return. For five long years he’s backed off and watched her come and go. This is it. His mate is back, and he’s taking a stand.

Sam’s need for Ry grows to unimaginable proportions. It’s almost as if she were in heat. But she’s a human…isn’t she?

There’s more at stake than Sam and Ry’s future relationship when she inherits her grandmother’s estate. One of her many relatives wants her out of the way.

It’s going to take all of Ry’s determination and help from his friends to keep her alive.  And it’s going to take delving into her past to find out why a human is going into mating heat.




Book Trailer:




Author Bio:


Want to know about me? Milly Taiden (aka April Angel) was born in the prettiest part of the Caribbean known as the Dominican Republic. She grew up between New York, Florida and Massachusetts.

Currently, she resides in New York City with her husband, bossy young son and their little dog Speedy.

She’s addicted to shopping for shoes, chocolate (but who isn’t?) and Dunkin Donuts coffee.

A bookworm when she can get her hands on a good story, she loves reading all Mina Carter, Cynthia Eden, and Dianne Duvall among others.

Stalk the Author:

Website | Facebook | millytaiden@gmail.com

Wednesday, February 20, 2013

Gravitational Pull


Blurb-


Touch me, and bring me to life...

How do you move on when you don’t even know where you were going in the first place?

The Spirit Stalker is dead and I have finally started to erect my life. But I quickly discover, that just because the structure is built doesn’t mean the foundation is sturdy. As much as I try to manage my abilities, I can’t completely control them. The physical impossibility of the relationship I have with Justice has reached a boiling point; our fundamental problem is my inability to control myself from absorbing his power, and his fears of touching me because of it.

As if that wasn’t deal-breaker enough, a new threat looms on my horizon - Darklings.
They are grim reapers of the immortal world who surface every five-hundred-years to feed off the souls of magical beings who are weak, aimless, lost; those who have given up and want to move on.

They also hunt power. Which means, they’re hunting me.

Abandoned by the one person I need the most, I find myself in Melenia’s realm.  There, I’m courted by Siberian, a dangerous pixie who covets me, hunted by Death personified; all the while hiding my powers and my ancient bloodline. The pixie prince is alluring, and I feel so broken and vulnerable. I know giving in to him means giving myself over to him. But right now, I don’t care. All I want is to feel anything other than the loss and rejection Justice left me with.
Anything other than pain.

So what do I do when I’m scared to be touched, even though I know it’s the only way to bring my soul back to life?

Author Bio:

Marissa Carmel has been writing since a young age and although it has always been for personal enjoyment, she finally decided breakout and share her imagination with the world. She hopes that her universe is as fun and intriguing to her readers as it is to her. Marissa Carmel is originally from NJ but moved to Maryland several years ago, she enjoys reading, writing, and catching up on her ever growing DVR library. She is currently working on the sequel to iFeel, Gravitational Pull and the third and final installment of the Vis Vires trilogy, Constellation.




Links:

Excerpt- Justice’s POV


We land right outside the gates of Keelin Castle. Extinguishing ourselves, we descend on the palace. 
Walking authoritatively, we make our way down the nave-like hallway of the castle to the huge, golden double doors at the end. The throne room.
“Are you sure that’s where she’ll be?” Derrin asks snidely. “She might be waiting in her chambers for you.” 
“Well if she is, she’ll be waiting a while.” 
“It could be a good way to get some of your frustrations out,” he says boorishly. 
“There’s more than one way to release frustration,” I threaten him.
“Bring it, bitch,” he grabs his crotch, not intimidated at all. 
Asshole.
I push open the throne room doors, and as expected, we see the pixie queen perched on her throne waiting for us. 
Emery surveys us as we approach. Both Derrin and I give a small nod in due respect as we reach her, but don’t be deceived, we are the supreme strata.
“Your little human has caused quite a stir,” she says evenly, but I can see the danger flashing in her eyes. 
“She was the one who was attacked,” I quickly defend Liv.
“Was she? Or did she bring it on herself?” 
My look becomes more intense. “What are you talking about?” 
“My brother has taken quite a liking to her you know,” Emery says randomly. 
Yes, I’ve noticed.
“If your brother knows what’s best for him, he will disappear from her life,” I say through clenched teeth. 
Or I’ll remove him myself. 
Emery’s eyes become razor sharp at my comment - she’s realized something. She slips off her throne and stalks down the three slate stairs to the floor where Derrin and I are standing. Like Liv, she is tiny, with long hair blacker than night and almond eyes just like Melenia’s.
“What is so special about this human?” she looks up at me, searing the question straight into my soul.
“Nothing,” I snap, but Emery knows me. She sees right through my lies. 
“Then it will be nothing if I send the royal guard to take care of her, and rid my land of such contaminants.”
“Do it, and I will burn this entire realm to the ground,” I growl.
Her eyes grow a little wider, but she doesn’t back down from my glare. 
“You love her.” 
“No.” 
“You deny it?” 
“Yes.” 
No.
“You loved me once,” she says vulnerably. 
“What we had was never love,” I bite, “just sex.” 
Ouch. That was harsh, even for me.
Emery’s eyebrows crease, and I know I have hurt her deeply. 
It’s not a lie, I never loved her. We did have an intense physical relationship that included some emotion, but it’s incomparable to what I have with Liv.
She backs away from me, shifting her eyes between me and Derrin. 
Derrin clears his throat. “Not to interrupt this lover’s quarrel,” that I highly enjoy watching, he tells me telepathically, “but what exactly did you mean when you said she brought it on herself?”
Emery’s full attention falls upon Derrin. 
“Siberian didn’t give me all the details, but apparently she used her powers on him, and what she did, he described only as provocative.”
I clench my jaw. Provocative? 
Images of Liv and Siberian reel through my head. What did she do to him? What did he do to her?
The thought makes me furious. 
I’ve damaged us so badly; she turned to a threat more dangerous than the Darklings. And the only thing I can do about it is blame myself. 
“So, is she in trouble?” Derrin goes on. “Is there anything we need to be aware of?” he hints. “Besides you sending the royal guard and Siberian?”
Emery contemplates Derrin’s questions for a short second. “Besides Darklings, what else should there be?” She looks over at me as I stand there still-stocked, trying not to give away the anger boiling over in my chest at the thought of Liv and Siberian. 
“Who is this girl, exactly?” she pries deeper now, and I know we are heading into hazardous territory. 
“She’s no one you have to be concerned about,” I dodge the question. “We just need to know if you’ve caught wind of any unusual uprisings?” 
She is simultaneously lost and absolutely intrigued as she stares at me decisively. “No, nothing.”
I nod, and release an almost nonexistent sigh of relief. 
“Do I have your word she won’t be harmed while she’s in Devonshire?” I phrase it as a question, but she understands my query is so much more than that. It’s a threat.
She nods her displeasure with a small, irritated frown. 
We’ve collected the information we came for, and I’ve had enough of Emery’s probing stares. Surrendering to the ever-present pull drawing me back to Liv, and preparing for the shit-storm I’m sure awaits me once I see her, I turn to leave.
“What should I tell my brother?” Emery calls, taunting me. “He wants her.” 
I turn back and glare at her. “Tell him he couldn’t handle her, even if he got her.” Then I slam the throne room door behind me, the sound echoing throughout the castle.
That pixie prick is dead.

Tuesday, February 19, 2013

The Inheritance of a Swamp Witch by Sonia Taylor Brock

Ok, you know when you sit down to read a book, and in the first few pages you like the idea but you're just not really sure if it's going to be something you'll enjoy?  I have to admit that's how I felt about this book in the beginning.  I did really like getting the back story, but as that came to an end, I wanted to know more about those characters (at least the time growing up that we kind of miss in the quick catch up to present time).

And then the story begins to unfold, rather quickly into the book (THANK YOU!), and I was hooked.  Had it not been my finals weeks, I probably would have read this book in one sitting.  There were so many twists and turns that I couldn't predict what was going to happen next - and I have a knack for that!  I think women are more comfortable writing female leads because we understand them better.  But Dan was just a wonderful character and easy for me to connect with, so I really enjoyed that aspect of the story.

The best part for me about this book is how original it is - I have read so many books in my lifetime and this one didn't remind me of any other.  I have to say that I will be reading many of Sonia's books in the near future!  You should too ;-)

Synopsis:


The Legend of the Swamp Witch has been told for
centuries in the Swamps of Southern Louisiana.  Some say Voodoo,
Santeria and horrible monsters.  Others say there is a strange magic
that will suck your life away if you get too close.

An old lady that mysteriously makes things happen.  No one knows exactly
where she lives....unless she wants you to know.  Strange things go on
in that swamp.  All the locals know not to venture too close to that
particular area of the swamp, you might not make it out.  Those that do,
never want to go back.  All kinds of things are hidden there... things that BITE!

Dan Rawlings, a young reporter eager to make a name for himself goes into
these swamps looking for answers Into the heart of the Swamp Witch's
home. A missing heir to a fortune and the story that will make him
famous.  Only the Swamp Witch Has the information he needs. He enters
this strange place and listens to her stories. Is she just a crazy old
woman...or is she something more?

In only a matter of days he has changed. He
suddenly finds himself in a battle to the death.  Ready to defend this
place and these people that have somehow used their magic to steal his
heart. He came here for a story, but who would believe what he had
discovered?

About the Author:



Born on the Oaklawn Plantation in New Iberia, Louisiana when it was still a working sugar mill, I was raised in Southern Louisiana by my Grandparents. I went to High School in Rayne, Louisiana.  A little shy and artsy, I made friends that I still stay in contact with today.  After Graduation, I joined the United States Marine Corps.  I have two children by my first marriage and have remarried and live in the Atlanta Georgia area.

My interests are currently Writing, Art, Music, Cooking,  Water sports, Travel (if my wallet will ever allow it), having fun with friends. playing with my Grandson, and enjoying life with my husband James.  Yes, I'm that sappy woman in love with her hubby.  When you have had your share of bad ones, you really appreciate a good one!




Author Links:

Drowning in Fire by Arielle Caldwell - Cover Reveal!


How gorgeous is this cover?!



Synopsis:


Nerita is tortured and put through more pain than she ever imagined could happen. Ahlic has captured her and locked her in a room where there’s no chance of escape on her own. He forces her to watch the murder of a friend. She strikes a deal to try and save lives but Ahlic is not the bargaining type.

After escaping, Ahlic forces her to endure a traumatic loss and haunts her in her dreams. More powers emerge from her, shocking everyone and leaving them slightly afraid. While on her own, a witch shows her the future and tells her grave news. A battle rages in her heart; unsure of how to handle the revelation.

She seeks Ahlic...but not to destroy him. Feelings she can’t control drive her to insanity and lust. Will Nerita give in and fall for what she’s been trying so hard to destroy?


About the Author:


I'm Arielle and I'm a 27 year old mother of 2 little boys; wife of 6 years, U.S. Navy Veteran, author, poet, scrapbooker, photographer, and whatever else I find myself doing. I've always loved to write but am just now putting my works out for others to enjoy. I write in fantasy, erotic suspense, and dystopian at the moment.



Find Arielle at these places:

Monday, February 18, 2013

Bad Juju by Dina Rae - Blog Tour


Blurb:
A Haitian bokor mentors two teens in the dark arts. Their spells backfire.


Lucien Nazaire flees his Haitian homeland and meanders around the United States for decades. He settles in a Wisconsin trailer park filled with elderly tenants. He meets Jake and hires him for odd household jobs. As their relationship progresses, Lucien invites the boy into the world of Voodoo.

Jake LaRue lives in foster care with his abusive uncle. The Voodoo lessons give him a sense of power within an otherwise helpless situation. Despite his loner status, he instantly connects with Henry, his only friend in high school.

Henry Novak has Asperger’s Syndrome. He fixates on historical events, most recently the 2010 Haitian earthquake. Like Jake, he becomes passionate about the dark side of Voodoo. They learn how to cast spells on those they hate and lust, leading up to dire consequences.
Months after the Haitian earthquake, Henry convinces his family to volunteer for the island's reconstruction. Their mission turns into a nightmare when he mysteriously walks off of the campsite.

Bad Juju is a balance of horror, romance, and literary fiction intended for adults and mature teens. The plot uses research involving the Voodoo religion.

My review:


First I want to say how much I loved this cover.  I know it sounds silly, but a cover is what drags me into a book. I know everyone says not to judge a book by it's cover, but if the book doesn't have a thought out cover, then you can really tell that the author didn't put a lot of thought into the story either.  And Dina Rae did some wonderful things with Bad Juju.  The title was the second reason I wanted to read this book.  I am a fan of Grey's Anatomy and my cousin and I will quote lines from the show on a daily basis.  Bad juju is one of our favorites!

That being said, I loved this story.  I wasn't sure how much I was going to like it at first.  I prefer stories where the main character is female, simply because I can relate better to them.  But it didn't matter.  Dina Rae is a wonderful writer and she can make you love a character as soon as you meet them.  I read this in one sitting (except for potty breaks of course!) and I will definitely be reading more from Dina Rae!

Something else that I loved was that one of the main characters have Asperger's Syndrome.  From what I understand it is one of the many spectrums of Autism.  Any time a book has me looking things up and learning it's a win!

***

Excerpt:

“He’s done this before, hasn’t he?” Lucien asked.

“Yes.  Lots of times.  But this is the worst time,” Jake cried.  Emotions suddenly overcame him.

“This is unforgiveable.  The next time might be worse.  He needs to be stopped.  Police?”  Jake shook his head.  “Let me make you an ointment for your back.”

Lucien opened a drawer with endless containers of odd spices labeled in French.  He began to boil water.

“Lucien, why don’t you make a Voodoo doll?  Isn’t that what you do in Haiti when someone is making you mad?  We can make one of Jake’s uncle,” Henry suggested.

“Can you do that, Lucien?” Jake asked.

“I haven’t done that kind of thing since, oh, since I left Haiti.  And sometimes it doesn’t even work.  It’s such a small part of the Voodoo religion.  Some would call it Hoodoo.  These things take time, but we could try.  Although I’d feel more comfortable showing you how to make a healing ointment for scarred skin.  Revenge is one of the trickiest of the hexes.  It has a power of its own, making it easy to backfire.  Any more harm than what your uncle deserves might invite evil loas into your life.  And Henry, your parents might not approve of this.  Maybe it’s a bad idea.”

“Like I said earlier, I’m good at keeping secrets.”

“But from your parents?  I don’t know if that’s right.”

“He’s cool.  And like you said, this probably won’t even work.  It’s worth a try.  You’re cheering me up just talking about it,” Jake said.

“Then I’ll need a few personal items from your uncle.  Hair, Q-tips, trinkets, clothes, anything he personally uses,” Lucien instructed.  “I also need dirt.  Large Ziploc bags of dirt from the graveyard next door.  I think I can provide the rest.”


About the Author:

Dina Rae is a new author here to stay.  As a former teacher, she brings an academic element to her work.  Her three novels, Halo of the Damned, The Last Degree, and Bad Juju weave research and suspense throughout the plots.  Her short story, Be Paranoid Be Prepared, is a prequel of sorts to The Last Degree, focusing on the James Martin character.  In the spring of 2013 her latest novel, Halo of the Nephilim, will be released.  Dina also freelances for various entertainment blogs.

Dina lives with her husband, two daughters, and two dogs outside of Chicago.  She is a Christian, an avid tennis player, movie buff, and self-proclaimed expert on several conspiracy theories.  She has been interviewed numerous times in e-zines, websites, blogs, newspapers, and radio programs.  When she is not writing she is reading novels from her favorite authors Dan Brown, Anne Rice, Stephen King, Brad Thor, George R.R. Martin, and Preston & Childs.


 Find Dina Rae here:


Books:




The Last Degree - Trailer

Halo of the Damned - Trailer




Be sure to leave Dina Rae a comment for your chance to win one of these candles!


Thursday, February 14, 2013

Valentine's Day Indie Love Giveaway!

20 indie authors have come together to say thank you for following them and supporting their work!
This huge Valentine's day Giveaway will give one winner 20+ prizes including ebooks, paperbacks and swag!
Want to show your love for books on Valentine's day? Show these authors some love and enter to win these swoon worthy  prizes!
*Ebooks are international however paperback and swag prizes are U.S. Only.


Happy Valentine's Day!

Secret Desire by Susan D. Taylor Book Blast


Secret Desire by Susan D. Taylor: 

‎"Hold on… I just had an idea for a story. What if a journalist decided to come out of her vanilla closet? You know, publish a scorching hot story? I mean EROTICA not an article about the fire department."

Blurb:

Claire Robertson is a journalist living a vanilla life. Except when she’s alone at night where she wields her writer whip and stilettos inside her erotic fantasies. Tragedy blindly strikes, forcing Claire to return to her hometown and confront her past. And that past includes Dustin Murray, an old flame she ran away from when things became complicated. 

Her life comes apart and she sends her editor the “wrong” story by mistake.  One of her hot novels.

Amidst chaos, Claire has a choice: to return to her safe life back in Seattle or risk adventure, ensuring her smoxy fantasies come to life. Dustin has his own plans and isn’t about to let Claire go. Not when he proves he can handle her life and ALL her bedroom fantasies.

When things heat up, Claire must decide which road to take in life and love.

***

Excerpt of an excerpt from the heroine Claire’s writing -

 “I’m Thornton Maxwell…your attorney.” He turned away, but not before she caught his look of displeasure. “God. Woman, do you even know what a mess you’ve got on your hands? We need to talk. A real pressure cooker is about blow.”

Cynthia froze. This wasn’t part of her erotic fantasy. What was he talking about? Should she just come out and admit she had no idea of what was going on or get him to divulge what demanded damage control?

She pretended unconcerned boredom in an attempt to buy some time to think. “Someone’s got his panties in a real twist.”

This wasn’t the first time she’d needed legal. But if he was her new go-to man, she was tempted to screw more things up.

This was a conundrum. He was too damn good-looking. This type of man didn’t appreciate a dumbbell. Did he know how hard she worked or that sometimes contracts needed to be bent? “Explored” is what she liked to call it. Wasn’t that why McGavock Publishing hired a boatload of first-year attorneys anyway? Shoot, he was probably upset because his weekend golf game was about to be rained out.

He paced in front of her desk while raking fingers through his thick, dark hair. Cynthia noticed the way he flexed and moved his arms, his muscles pumping and expanding. He stopped, spun around, and marched back to her desk.

“Lewis, when you cross out clauses and write your own notes into a publishing contract, we don’t have a legal leg to stand on in court when an issue is disputed. The things you’ve included to get an author to sign without consulting legal is tying us in knots. The next time you promise a writer the moon, you better consult me first and NASA second. Not whatever pops into that pretty little head of yours. You need my help with this lawsuit, and I expect your cooperation. You might as well know now that’s going to mean during office hours as well as evenings and weekends.”

His finger was pointed directly in front of her face. She imagined sucking the tip until her sex-crazed brain finally grasped his message.

What? She was floored. Her stomach felt punched, the fist of surprise still lodged in her ribcage. Her mind reeled. It wasn’t possible. She was being threatened with a lawsuit for a couple of silly additions to a contract, and now this man expected her to drop everything. Was he joking? Slowly she inhaled.

“I’m innocent.” She stared back at him. “Sure, I’m not beyond bending the rules, but a lawsuit? No, that’s not possible; it’s impossible. You’ve got to help me.”

“We definitely need a sit-down. Not your usual brush-off and expectation for legal to jump through a hoop. This one is serious.” His gaze swept over her face and downward. The space between them crackled with static energy. He was more than steamed. But he was ready to step in and help her. A spasm of pleasure trilled in her veins. He was her knight in shining armor. She wasn’t the enemy. Not his at least. With all that pent-up fury of his, it was a shame to let it go to waste. He was handsome beyond belief…another time, over cocktails or at a party, she’d not think twice about what her body wanted. His dark eyes weren’t all anger…passion brewed there, pulling the cords to her attraction, making her skin tingle. Oh, my. He wanted to school her good. But maybe she could teach him a thing.

“Thor…Thornton, sit down.” She recouped her confidence. He was in her dominion. The door was closed. Her assistant always knocked before entering. The glass panels were mirrored. He was so near…all she had to do was reach out to him.

She met his bad-boy stare with excitement screaming in her ears.

“Please.” She was almost purring, beseeching him over the rim of her eyeglasses.

“Fine, I’m all ears.” He pulled up a chair closer to her desk. “Well?”

She studied him. If the man ever smiled, he’d be drop-dead gorgeous. She let the papers slip out of her fingers, and she pushed her glasses up on top of her head. Cynthia rubbed her ankles together, and his eyes fixed onto legs.

Ding, ding. Johnny, she had a winner.

She lifted her legs and stood, acting as if arranging her papers was vital. She felt, rather than saw, that his gaze was upon her.

“Client-attorney privilege?” She rounded the desk, trailing her fingers along the surface.

“Yes, whatever you share. Go on.”

“Where shall I begin?” She stopped and leaned back on her desk, directly in front of him. Eighteen inches of space separated them.

“Haven’t you ever longed for something to the point of breaking a few rules? Just once?”

***

From the Author

I grew up in Miami, Florida and spent summers with my father who taught college philosophy courses. I’ve always been surrounded by books. My father gave me the Little Prince not once, but several times growing up. I never thought I’d become a writer. But I followed in his footsteps becoming a teacher and then a writer. He passed away before I achieved any of these goals. I hope he knows how far I’ve traveled along the road he also journeyed.

Find Susan Here:





AND





Upcoming Releases

Secret Desire – February 1, 2013 Contemporary Erotic Romance, Etopia Press E-book (Susan D. Taylor)

Branded By Desire – April 1, 2013 Western Erotic Romance, Crimson Press E-book & Print (Susan Arden)

Collared For A Night – 2013 Paranormal Erotica Romance -Rocky Mountain Shifters – 
        Crimson Press(Susan Arden)

Ocean of Love – 2013 An Adult Fairytale – Amazon.com (Susan D. Taylor)


Be sure to leave Susan a comment!  She will be giving away a Nook Simple Touch to one very lucky commenter after the book blast today!

Happy Underappreciated Singles' Day!!

It's finally here!  The day that all women swoon about, hoping for the best but preparing for the worst, because someone managed to fuck it all up a year ago making you a bitter, old hag.  Oh, I supposed I should have added a warning at the top of this post - This is a review for a wonderful little nugget of awesome called Fuck Valentine's Day.  There will be cursing, so if you don't like it, get the hell out!

Have I told you lately I love you?

No, really!  C.M. Stunich I heart the fuck out of you (and cannot stop using this term now - thank you very much)!  I'm really going to have to edit this before it's posted on Amazon... This is probably the first book that I have read that made me laugh on at least every other page, if not more.  And I'm curious now as to where the inspiration for this awesome nugget of wonderful came from... And here is where I'm going to call SPOILERS because I seriously need to discuss this!!  You all know how much I don't like spoilers, but I just don't give a shit.  A girl needs to process!  So -

**Spoilers**

How in the hell does a 22-year-old virgin find out that she prefers to masturbate - wait for it - HANDCUFFED to the bed?!?! LOL  Seriously!  She has a dildo the size of a man's arm and rubs one off while handcuffed.  

And here is a question I genuinely want an answer - You have a secret admirer.  Swoon. You get a cutesy, funny card with a ripped naked man on the front, "Bitch, please! You thought Cupid was a freaking baby? Check out this bow and arrow." I'm making that into an ecard (I'll totally give you credit for it lol) Weird?  Maybe.  But not psycho.  I would find it quite awesome that a man that was interested in me was secure enough in himself that he'd buy me a naked man for D-Day... V-day.  Whoopsies!

What was that?  That there.  That just fell on the floor!  Why, it's a picture of a man's cock and balls, of course!  WEIRD!  But hilarious, too.  Someone is pretty full of themselves.
Oh!  How about - Just Kidding!!  If you want to talk shop and have read the book, please feel free to send me a private message on Facebook.  I'm talking to you JODI MURPHY! ;-)

**End of Spoilers**
Oh, Caitlin (That's her name!) - you never cease to amaze me.  I love that one day you'll have me in tears, sobbing and snot running down my face, and the next I have to cover my face with a pillow so I don't wake up the kids reading about the naughty shenanigans your girls get into!! You. Are. My. Hero.


For those of you looking for a little less kink - grab a copy of A Werewolf Valentine for $0.99 TODAY (as soon as Amazon publishes the link anyway - seriously they are slower than watching water boil).

C.M. Stunich was raised under a cover of fog in the area known simply as Eureka, CA. A mysterious place, this strange, arboreal land nursed Caitlin's (yes, that's her name!) desire to write strange fiction novels about wicked monsters, magical trains, and Nemean Lions (Google it!). She currently enjoys drag queens, having toomany cats, and tribal bellydance.  

Always a fan of the indie scene and 'sticking it to the man,' Ms. Stunich decided to take the road less traveled and forgo the traditional publishing route. You can be assured though that she received several rejections as to ensure her proper place in the world of writers before taking up a friend's offer to start a publishing company. Sarian Royal was born, and Ms. Stunich's books slowly transformed from mere baking chocolate to full blown tortes with hand sculpted fondant flowers.

C.M. is a writer obsessed with delivering the very best and scours her mind on a regular basis to select the most unusual stories for the outside world.


Ms. Stunich can be reached via e-mail or by post and loves to hear from her readers. Ms. Stunich also wrote this biography and has no idea why she decided to refer to herself in the third person.

Happy reading and carpe diem!

CM’s Links -


Official Web Page: http://www.cmstunich.com



Monday, February 11, 2013

Eternity by Kim Carmichael - Review Blog Tour


Therin Athan faces a choice…eternal salvation or eternal damnation.

After centuries of pining away for a love never realized, Therin's last assignment as a Cupid depends on helping the lonely, shy Lucy Carlton.  The mission's success or failure will determine where he is transferred.  He can study the heavens or be condemned to hell.

Lucy Carlton spent her life searching the stars for answers, but finds them in the form of a gorgeous man who comes in her dreams.  Therin shows her the joys of physical pleasure and encourages her to try to find love.  She wakes with a new found confidence, but soon her timid nature takes over and she retreats back to the comfort of her home…alone.

With only a week to decide his fate, Therin breaks every rule.  What starts as a job to save himself, becomes a love that can never be…except maybe in eternity.

***

Oh my!  Kim Carmichael has made the butterflies in my stomach flutter from start to finish with this gem!  I want to hate Lucy, but I can't.  There is nothing wrong with her, don't get me wrong, but I want Mr. Therin all to myself!  This book was just delicious and I think what I love most about it is that I could read it again... and again, and again!

Ladies, you need to grab a copy of this book - and keep it next to your bed! 18 and up!

***

Excerpt:

"Why stars?" He retrieved the bottle and poured her some more, staying quiet hoping she would continue to reveal bits of herself.

"Stars are endless, they are sort of like looking at hope."

He stared at her profile.

She let out another laugh, this one heartier than the first. "Right there." She motioned up at the night sky.

"Where?" He leaned over.

"Right there." She put out her finger and leaned toward him as if to show him her perspective.

He moved the basket to the side and slid over, sighing when he finally focused on what she pointed out.

"Pisces." The two fish represented Aphrodite and Eros. A few wisps of her hair tickled his face but he didn't move them away.

"Is she your mother?  Are the stories true?"

"Nothing is ever exactly as it seems." He repeated his words from earlier, but appreciated the way she was fluent not only in the stars but the mythology. "Just like Pegasus, there is more than one Cupid. He was the just the most famous."

"Are you a God?" She kept her eyes on the night sky.

"I am what they call an immortal. I work for the Gods." He lowered his voice as to not scare her.

She finished off her wine. "Why is this your last assignment?  Did I break you or something?"

He put his hand over hers. "I was broken way before you were even born."

"What broke you?"

"Every being has wants and needs." He paused. "Sometimes when they go unfulfilled it's hard to keep going."

She looked at her lap. "What happens after you deal with me?"

"It depends on how successful I am." He balled his other hand in a fist. This was not something to put on a human.

"Do you mean how successful I am?"

From one day in her apartment he knew she was not only intelligent, but also insightful. "Something like that."

"What happens if I don't end up with him?" She stared into the empty glass.

"There are things only Gods know. I need to guide you."

She shook her head. "I don't want to think of you down in Hades."

He almost smiled. "Something like that."

"Must be frightening for you," she whispered.

"What do you mean?"

"If you are immortal then you never really know how or when it will end." She turned her hand over. "Infinite can be as terrifying as finite."

***

Kim Carmichael began writing eight years ago when her need for graphic sex scenes and love of happy endings inspired her to create her own.  She has a weakness for bad boys and techno geeks, and married her own computer whiz after he proved he could keep her all her gadgets running.  When not writing, she can usually be found slathered in sunscreen trolling Los Angeles and helping top doctors build their practices.

Learn more about Kim here:



Twitter - @kimcarmichael4


Make sure you leave Kim a comment today!  One randomly drawn commenter will receive a $25 Amazon Gift Card!  Follow the tour and comment daily - the more you participate, the better your chances at winning! ♥



Sunday, February 10, 2013

Surviving ELE - Rebecca Gober and Courtney Nuckels

***This review contains no spoilers if you have not read the first three books in the series.  Please read Project ELE (free), Finding ELE, and Exposing ELE before reading Surviving ELE.***

Eeeep!  This book was fantastic!  So many things happen, so many issues are resolved.  Questions were answered.  All around wonderful and fun!  I will not go into too much detail with this book because I want you to read it - I'm not CliffsNotes!

There is quite a few places that caused my heart to beat out of my chest.  There was a few scenes that seriously made my belly tingle.  There was one scene in particular that had me screaming at the book - cheering Willow on and saying FINALLY!!!!!

And for my one "spoiler," like I always try to do for my readers:

This is NOT the last book.  As of right now (I say that because Rebecca and Courtney are notorious for changing their minds :P ) there will be one more book.  This is your spoiler because as I got about 80% through the book my heart started getting sad.  It seemed as though we were wrapping up the story while there were some questions arising that couldn't just be left unanswered!  Looking back, I should have seen that they were opening up the story again to be able to give us more, but I was so hung up on what had just happened that my brain seriously couldn't function properly!  And once I was finished I just sat there, mouth hanging open, and scratching my head in total shock and awe.

More from Rebecca Gober and Courtney Nuckels:


Books (on Smashwords so they can be downloaded on any eReader):

Nightmarchers - Free!

Project ELE - Free!

Tuesday, February 5, 2013

Don't Kill, Dinner Party

Don't Kill Dinner is being released on March, 15, 2013!!!  And now that the cover has been revealed, it's time to party!  To celebrate, the lovely Miss Jennifer Martinez has generously donated lots of goodies for me to give away to you!

First, a little about the book:

There are three rules when it comes to being a vampire in New Orleans.


          1) Don’t kill dinner.
          2) Don’t feed from people you know.
          3) Don’t tell anyone.

Not too hard, right? Wrong. Kenna is a new vampire filled with a passion that has turned into an uncontrollable lust for blood. Will Arthur be able to stop her feeding spree before the coven comes after her or is Kenna beyond saving?

Arthur has been watching Kenna for years, wanting her to try her own hand in life before he gave her the ultimate proposal. Now that she has accepted, will his love be enough to save her?

Up for Grabs:


On to the important stuff!  Jennifer will be giving away a paperback copy of Don't Kill Dinner to one winner, an e-copy to 2 winners, 1 handmade beaded bookmark, and a Don't Kill Dinner Bookmark to 15 winners!  Each winner will be randomly drawn via Rafflecopter on the release day! Here are pictures of the prizes:

Front of Bookmark

Back of Bookmark

This is an example of the beaded bookmark.  The Don't Kill Dinner bookmark is not finished yet ♥

DKD Swag by Kelli's Kollectables:

DKD Book Thong

DKD Key Chain/ Zipper Pull

DKD Mirror Dangler - Giveaway at the Release Party!


Enter Here:




About Jennifer:

One day while slaving away at her monotonous day job, Jennifer Martinez found her true calling. Like a firefly in the night, the pages called to her. Once she caught the bug there was no stopping it. Her fingers flew furiously across the keyboard winding tales of love, mystery and anger. She snapped out of her reverie to find herself still behind the desk but at least she knew who she was… Author Jennifer Martinez.


I like to think of myself as a beautiful conundrum. When I am not writing, I can be found surrounded by my amazing family and 4 dogs or volunteering at a local animal rescue. I love who I am and don’t mind at all when I get strange looks from people. I am a tattoo covered, child and animal lover who looks forward to destroying peoples preconceived notions of what “someone like me” would be interested in. You only live life once… you may as well make it interesting.
I love to get lost in a good book and hope that everyone will get lost in mine.



Monday, February 4, 2013

Don't Kill Dinner - Cover Reveal!

One day while slaving away at her monotonous day job, Jennifer Martinez found her true calling. Like a firefly in the night, the pages called to her. Once she caught the bug there was no stopping it. Her fingers flew furiously across the keyboard winding tales of love, mystery and anger. She snapped out of her reverie to find herself still behind the desk but at least she knew who she was… Author Jennifer Martinez.

I like to think of myself as a beautiful conundrum. When I am not writing, I can be found surrounded by my amazing family and 4 dogs or volunteering at a local animal rescue. I love who I am and don’t mind at all when I get strange looks from people. I am a tattoo covered, child and animal lover who looks forward to destroying peoples preconceived notions of what “someone like me” would be interested in. You only live life once… you may as well make it interesting.

I love to get lost in a good book and hope that everyone will get lost in mine.



Learn more and connect with the lovely Miss Jennifer Martinez here:


Get her other book here:


Onto the book of the hour!

Official Blurb:


There are three rules when it comes to being a vampire in New Orleans.

          1) Don’t kill dinner.
          2) Don’t feed from people you know.
          3) Don’t tell anyone.

Not too hard, right? Wrong. Kenna is a new vampire filled with a passion that has turned into an uncontrollable lust for blood.
Will Arthur be able to stop her feeding spree before the coven comes after her or is Kenna beyond saving?

Arthur has been watching Kenna for years, wanting her to try her own hand in life before he gave her the ultimate proposal. Now that she has accepted, will his love be enough to save her?

Anyone up for a teaser?


When we finally reached the Coven stronghold I was slightly disturbed to find it in the warehouse district surrounded by graffiti and gutter punks. Arthur pounded on the large stainless steel door and a small rectangle slid open to reveal a pair of menacing eyes. Arthur smiled just wide enough for his fully elongated fangs to show and I followed suit. Once we were inside the warehouse it took me a second to catch my breath. It was a completely different building on the inside. The walls were made of a grey stone and the floor was covered in plush black carpet. It was so soft it felt like you were walking on air. As Arthur led me down the hall I couldn’t help but relax. We finally came to a stop at a large arched wooden door. He grabbed my face with both hands and leaned in so our foreheads were touching. He then spoke in my mind, “Remember Kenna, use your Romanian, try not to be your cute sarcastic self and do not look her in the eyes.” I nodded, and he gave me a quick kiss on the lips that sent my stomach into a tizzy. I took a deep breath and opened the door.






♥ “I love you Kenna and I will never lose you. I promise.”  ♥


Saturday, February 2, 2013

Finding Never by C.M. Stunich ♥

**This review will not contain spoilers for anyone who have not yet read the first book in the Never Say Never series.  Please read Tasting Never before you read this book!**

So, here I am again with the Never Say Never series, and while I was at a loss for words with Tasting Never, that is not the case here.  I have so many things to say about Finding Never that I'm not sure what to start with.  Maybe about the disclosure that should be printed on the cover that CM Stunich sneakily forgot?!  There should also be a recommendation that you buy stock in Kleenex, because you're going to go through at least one box by the end of the story!

It is amazing to me that one person can imagine all of the emotions that a person in Never's position goes through while mending their heart and rebuilding bridges they thought had been burned forever, and is actually able to write it down in a way that you experience those emotions with them.  I can't even count how many times I had to take a break reading this book because I couldn't see through the tears streaming down my face... and snot.  But don't fret!  They were happy tears, and not once was I sad because of this book!  Tasting Never sent me on an emotional roller coaster and had me question things about myself and reevaluate my own life and how I saw myself and my past, but in Finding Never I was able to repair some of my own personal damage right along with Never.  It was beautiful.  I felt so full of life once I was finished with this book and it felt wonderful.

Now, a little note for my now number 1 favorite author, ever -  I'm super duper proud of how well you've done with these last few books.  I hope you realize how amazing you actually are, as a writer and a person.  You're going to go very, very far, and I can't wait to see your name on the NY Times best sellers list (no, really) and brag to all of my friends that myself, and quite a few other amazing men and women that I've met over the last few months, helped you get there.  Keep doing what you are doing, this is your calling, and don't ever let anyone ever have you thinking otherwise.  I heart the fuck out of you!  Period. ♥


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...