Wednesday, January 30, 2013

Released Souls by Karice Bolton



There are no words to describe how excited I was to get a sneak peak at this magnificent edition to the Witch Avenue Series!!  And yes, it was magnificent!  Karice Bolton is a wonderful author and has outdone herself with the amount of action, suspense, spice (yes ma'am!), and heart wrenching scenarios in this third book.

I felt as though I was living in the story along side Triss and Logan.  When they were happy, I was happy.  When their hearts were breaking, I wanted to slap a bitch.  My heart raced at every turn in their adventure.  Triss is one bad ass bitch witch, with no one as her equal.  She takes everything with such stride and faces her demons head on - taking no prisoners...  I cannot even begin describe the story in my own words without giving away the plot, so I'm going to leave you with the synopsis of this installment.

BLURB:



Triss and Logan’s love is becoming stronger by the day as they harness the powers between them, but will that make them blind to the evil they’re facing?

After uncovering startling information about her family, Triss is determined to right the wrongs of her ancestors. Triss and Logan uncover who has infiltrated the covens across the globe, and they realize the plans of the dark side are far more sinister than they’d ever imagined.

As the power of this hidden world is exposed, Triss learns her role in the covens. With Logan, Dace and Bakula’s assistance, Triss is now able to fully realize the abilities her ancestors have given her.

It won’t be long until the dark forces regain their strength, especially as their leader, Eben, continues his quest for a power that can never be revoked. Triss must stop him before it is too late.



Released Souls is FINALLY available today!!  Go grab a copy!! Also, if you would like to get to know this wonderful author, head on over to her facebook page and show her some love.  Let her know I sent you ♥

Get her amazing books (just trust me on this one - buy them now!) here:

The Watchers Trilogy and Prequel:

Awakening - Free!
Taken - Prequel
**I suggest reading them in this order.  If you read the prequel first, it will give away a lot of the surprise in Awakening!**

Witch Avenue Series:


Tuesday, January 29, 2013

Black Mamba by Jac Simensen

Do not let this cover scare you - though it is an amazing cover for the story.  Black Mamba, written by the very talented Jac Simensen, was amazing! It is a story about a Mamba - a Haitian Voodoo Priestess - and an evil Voodoo sorcerer; you'll have to forgive me because I don't remember the actual term for him and because the book is so amazing I am forcing some of my family members to read it - so they have my copy!

Stella is our resident Mamba.  Being a Mamba is inherited, and Stella received her gift when her mother was dying.  She is able to draw evil spirits out of people, healing them in a way; or killing them if they are too far gone because the spirits.

So when Stella was a young girl, shortly after her mother died, she was sold into slavery.  No, not that kind.  She was taken to be a sex slave.  Don't worry, he doesn't go into detail; and I will gladly let you know that she escaped before anything horrible happened to her.  She was rescued by a British couple who ended up raising her and she lived a fulfilling life; and as an adult, Stella opens up a safe house for abused women and children because of her past.

I'm going to stop there with my description of the story because I want everyone to read this book.  It is seriously fantastic and if I had a list of favorite books, which I don't because it would be entirely too long, it would belong in the top 10.  If you like Stephen King, you'll love this book.  I actually found it more enjoyable than Stephen King's novels because it doesn't have a seriously disturbing conclusion. This is an R-rated book though, so 18+ only kids!

And a side note:

When I received my copy of the book there was a letter from Jac with it.  He said, "The motivation for this novel came from a woman I recently met who is the head of a group in Atlanta who run a shelter for abused teens and children.  The thing that got to me is that she said almost no one in the traditional press would give any print space to raising the awareness of the horrors of commercial, sexual abuse in America; a problem that with our current economic distress is growing like cancer.  She explained that sexual exploitation carried with it the 'ick factor... it's too disgusting and awful, I don't want to discuss or know about it.'"

There is also information in the book about how to donate to this extremely important cause - which I cannot add to this post because, again, I don't have my copy of the book with me.  Once I get it back I will add the links!

Bravo Jac for an amazing story and for shedding light on this growing epidemic ♥

Sunday, January 27, 2013

Order of the Dimensions by Irene Helenowski

First, I want to say that I am not a super, huge sci-fi fan.  I love watching sci-fi movies, but it's harder for me to get into books of the genre.  However, for the most part, I did enjoy this book.  It was a quick read and easier to understand than I initially thought it would be.

There are quite a few physics terms (at least I'm hoping it's physics - I'm not a science person lol) that we're supposed to understand without an explanation, which at first irritated me a bit.  But, after a few of them were thrown around, it was easier to get the gist of what they meant based on the surrounding phrasing.  And to add further, there were so many "technical" terms, that if she were to explain all of them, we would have been there for hours for each one.

The story reminded me a lot of Quantum Leap.  I watched that show a lot with my mom when I was younger, so it was easy for me to follow the jumps from one dimension to another.

I would have liked a bit more character development for Jane and Randy, however I loved our multidimensional villain, Anton Zelov!  He was just the right amount of creepy.  The author also did a good job of making me feel sorry for him in a few aspects of the book, which I loved!  It's hard for an author to have me rooting for the villain, but there were a few instances where I wanted what he wanted.

There was closure in the conclusion of the book, but it went a bit fast for me.  I think she could have gone a little more in depth with what happened to the characters after the conflict was resolved.

All in all, it wasn't a bad read.   Also, Irene Helenowski is working on a sequel to this book, which I will be reading.  I think that we'll get more of a back story for Jane and Randy; and if we don't, we'll at least get to find out what happened to each of the characters in their perspective dimensions!

Tuesday, January 22, 2013

Under Her Spell Super Book Blast

When a series of failed relationships and business ventures have Monica Jackson doubting her self-worth, she turns to spell casting to attract positive energy and the opportunities needed to achieve her goals.  But can Monica’s belief in spells restore her belief in herself? 

Monica creates a spell to find her soul mate, and one to ensure the success of her new romantic event planning company, Enhance Your Romance.  Monica is confident she has found her niche until divorce lawyer Reed Walker opens a practice next door to her office.  The anti-marriage slogan plastered on his office window, and his down-on-love clients, quickly prove detrimental to Monica’s business.  When his arrival appears to trigger a string of bad luck, Monica fears one of her spells sent negative energy into the universe and it has returned to her threefold.  Although Reed is beyond sexy, and she admires his self-confidence, she’ll do whatever it takes to get the universe back on her side, and Reed out of her life. No way is she losing another business.

Reed finds himself attracted to Monica’s beauty and her optimism. His job and his parents’ divorce have made him a pessimist, especially when it comes to love. However, he soon finds that Monica’s pro-love attitude is rubbing off on him, causing him to lose his edge.  If Reed doesn’t distance himself from Monica, he’ll likely destroy his reputation as a pit bull divorce lawyer.

Can Monica and Reed look past what they might be losing to realize the love they have found?

********************************************************************************************
Prologue

 “A spell … ” Hope mused, then her face lit up. “If there’s a spell to attract a man to a woman, there must be one to repel women from a man. Right?”

“Spells shouldn’t involve negative energy. Sending out negative energy can cause it to return threefold. They aren’t intended to harm someone or make them do something against their will.” Jordan had drilled this into her head.

“I wouldn’t be making Kyle do anything against his will. I’d be warning women to stay away from him.”

Sounded borderline.

“Please,” Hope whined, picking a clump of batter from her long, wavy hair.

Monica let out a defeated groan. “All right.” Hope would never actually cast the spell anyway. When they were young, Hope refused to wear a Casper costume for Halloween because she didn’t believe in ghosts. She was closed-minded when it came to paranormal or New Age beliefs. And you had to truly believe in a spell for it to work.

Monica set down the bowl of salt and grabbed a pencil and pad of paper off her desk and handed them to Hope. “Write this down. It’s called,” she tapped a hot pink nail against her lip, “the dirtbag spell. Take one of Kyle’s socks, fill it with dirt, and add a photo of him. It’s critical you aren’t in the photo.” Monica paced, tightening the sash on her lavender silk robe. “Include something of his like … ”

“His new Rolex?”

Personally, Monica would list the watch on eBay and pray for a bidding war. But Hope, no matter how ticked off, was too timid to sell Kyle’s precious watch, and too frugal to risk damaging it by mixing it with dirt.

“That’s fine. Sew up the sock and bury it in your front yard. It’ll warn all women he’s a dirtbag.”

Hope poised the pencil against her lower lip, reviewing the spell. “Don’t I have to say something when I bury it, like a chant?”

What happened to being spell ignorant?

“Bury it in the moonlight while saying … ” Monica scrambled for a few rhyming lines, “moonlight, glowing bright, warn all women in your sight, the man who lives in this house, is a dirtbag and a total louse.”

“Perfect.” Hope sprang from the bed, looking inspired. “Kyle’s at work. I’m going over to the house right now to bury that sock.” She turned and marched out, a woman on a mission.

Monica nibbled nervously on her fingernail. Hope wouldn’t seriously go through with casting the spell, would she? A big part of spell casting was psychological, focusing all your energy on making something happen. Monica had never seen Hope look so determined, or vindictive. Hopefully, if she did cast the spell the negative energy didn’t return threefold.

What was the worst that could happen?

**********************************************************************************************

Eliza Daly has written a laugh out loud romantic comedy!  Seriously, folks!  It's hard to get me actually laughing when reading a book.  A giggle, yes.  But laughing, tear ridden laughter, rarely.    This book is a must read!

Meet the Author
Eliza Daly


Eliza Daly’s first attempt at creative writing was in fourth grade. She and her friends were huge Charlie’s Angels fans and she would sit in her bedroom at night writing scripts for them to act out at recess the following day. She was Kelly Garrett. Fast forward to the present, she’s still writing stories about beautiful women who always get their men. The journey from fourth grade script writer to published author wasn’t an easy one, but it was always an adventure and the final destination was well worth it.

When Eliza isn’t traveling for her job as an event planner, or tracing her ancestry roots through Ireland, she’s at home in Milwaukee working on her next novel, bouncing ideas off her husband Mark, and her cats Quigley and Frankie.

You can find Eliza on the web at





Under Her Spell is available at




 Kobo



Giveaway:

Make sure you leave a comment for Eliza - she will be awarding one $25 gift card and three $10 gift cards for Amazon or Barnes & Noble (winner's choice)!  Each comment you leave during the tour will get you one entry into the giveaway; so make sure you check out each stop and talk away to increase your chance to win!!  The rest of the tour dates can be found here.

Wednesday, January 16, 2013

Broken Pasts by CM Stunich Release


Check out the newest release from the amazingly, wonder author, C.M. Stunich!  Her work is amazing and original, and she has a forever fan in me ♥

Blurb:

“Until Nathaniel Sutherland was open and all his soul was bared for me to see, I wouldn't be satisfied.”

Theresa McMaster does not have a good track record when it comes to men. Her first husband walked out on her after a terrible miscarriage left her unable to carry any children of her own, and her estranged second husband has revealed himself to be more than just an emotional danger – he's been stalking her. 
Fearing for her own safety as well as that of her family, Theresa hires a private security service and meets Nathaniel, the man whose secrets and heartaches may just outnumber her own. Drawn into the arms of the sexy stranger, Theresa fears that both of their pasts may very well be the things that keep them apart.

“You can't escape your past by running from it.”

Excerpt:


“It's a pleasure to meet you,” he said and I wasn't sure if I were hallucinating or not, but I'm almost certain he emphasized the word. Pleasure. “My name is Nathaniel Sutherland and I'm from Personal Private Security Detail.” Here he paused and removed his glasses. He didn't tear them off his face and shake his head of deliciously soft, dark hair like they do in the movies. He just removed them gently, folded the arms up and stuck them in the front pocket of his suit. His eyes made my breath catch in my throat and sent my body temperature skyrocketing. They were dark green, smooth and polished like emeralds, deep, thoughtful. Sexy. “Is that Emily on the phone?”

“Uh.” I was at a loss for words. Without another word, he reached out, plucked the phone from my fingers and put it to his ear.

“Everything is fine here, Emily,” he said with the most wicked smile I had ever seen on a man. “I'll call you later and update you with Ms. McMaster's new phone number.” He ended the call and passed the phone back to me. “May I come in?” I stepped aside without a word and he came inside, eyes scanning the room like a predator searching for prey. His muscles were tensed and even with the clean, sharp lines of his suit covering him, I could see that he was ready for action. I closed the door behind him and locked it. He glanced over one of his broad shoulders and flashed me an admirable smile. “Good,” he said as he turned his attention back to my house. “We don't have to start at ground zero with you. That's excellent.”

“Huh?” That's all I could think to say. Jamie had said the men she'd hired were tight. But … wow. Nathaniel wasn't just tight; he was deadly. He was clean shaven with pale, not pasty, just pale, skin and full lips. His dark hair was just this side of brown, toeing that line between black and chocolate. Nothing about his appearance was out of the ordinary per se, but all together, the perfection that was Nathaniel Sutherland was hard to ignore. It was the little details that made this man: the well pressed suit, perfectly tailored to his body, the crispness of the shirt beneath, the way his hair fell just slightly onto his brow, like it had been sculpted there. He was so well put together that had he had the face of a Neanderthal, he would've looked good. And that's not to say he did. Nathaniel Sutherland had a strong face, but it was in no way reminiscent of a caveman. He straddled that metrosexual line, but in a good way. He was clean, he smelt good, and he was probably gay. Had to be. Had had had to. Or else he was married. Or both.


***
You can also read the first few chapters on C.M. Stunich's website!
Available for purchase on Amazon!

Pay it Forward ♥

We aren't here today just for publicity for her new book release.  Sadly, there is a little girl, named Jemma, who is very, very sick.  Her mother is losing her job and with it her health insurance.  There are a group of authors, bloggers, and readers, that have got together to help out this family; and C.M. decided that for the first 24 hours of Broken Pasts' release, all proceeds from this book's sales, and every other book she has written, will be going to that fund.

Read more about what is wrong with Jemma, donate, and spread the word for this great cause!  And, just a little incentive to help this family out - if you donate at least $5, you can go to this Rafflecopter and enter to win one of these prize packs:

Pack 1


$20 Amazon gift card from Have Book Will Read  Book Blog
$25 Starbucks Gift Card from J. Sager Hall
Signed copy of A Song For Julia and a Signed paperback of Just Remember To Breathe by Charles Sheehan Miles
Signed paperback copy of Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

eBooks:

Bound Together by Marie Coulson
Running  On Empty by L.B Simmons
Collide by Gail McHugh
Disastrous by E.L Montes
Bouquet Toss  by Melissa Brown
Champagne Toast by Melissa Brown
Captive In The Dark by C.J Roberts
Seduced In The Dark by C.J Roberts
Schooled by Deena Bright

 Special gifts

Rock The Heart by Michelle Valentine
Tiffany King signed swag bag of goodies.
Signed bookmark from C.J Roberts

Pack 2


$20 Amazon gift card from Flirty And Dirty  Book Blog
Paperback Copy of Bound Together with signed bookplate by Marie Coulson
Signed paperback copy of A Beautiful Lie by Tara Sivec

 eBooks

Wounded by Jasinder Wilder
Rock Stars by Jasinder Wilder
Running  On Empty by L.B Simmons
Collide by Gail McHugh
Disastrous by E.L Montes
Schooled by Deena Bright
Rock The Heart by Michelle Valentine
Gift certificate for a novel of your choice by JA Dennam
Naked by Raine Miller
All In by Raine Miller
Walking Away by Adriane Tait Boyd
Miss Me Not by Tiffany King

 Special gifts

Signed bookmark from C.J Roberts
Signed bookmark, bookplate and postcard from Marie Coulson
T-Shirt from Rhonda Dennis
Handmade festive quilt from Jamie Desjardins & Friend

Pack 3


$20 Amazon gift card from Jackie Yeadon
Signed paperback copy of Disastrous by E.L Montes
Signed copy of Back to You by Pricilla Glenn


eBooks

Bound Together by Marie Coulson
Wounded by Jasinder Wilder
Rock Stars by Jasinder Wilder
Collide by Gail McHugh
Gift certificate for a novel of your choice by JA Dennam
Rock The Heart by Michelle Valentine
Walking Away by Adriane Tait Boyd
Miss Me Not by Tiffany King

 Special Gifts

Signed bookmark from C.J Roberts
Signed bookmark, bookplate and postcard from Marie Coulson
Crochet Scarf. Choose from a variety of color’s from Jen Atchison

Pack 4

$20 Amazon from Kay Miles
Signed paperback from the Green Bayou Novels Collection by Rhonda Dennis
Signed copy of Easy by Tammara Webber
Signed paperback of  Love Evolution and Love Revolution along with concert bracelet and BS tattoos from Michelle Mankin

 eBooks

Bound Together by Marie Coulson
Collide by Gail McHugh
Disastrous by E.L Montes
Gift certificate for a novel of your choice by JA Dennam
Rock The Heart by Michelle Valentine
Relatively Famous by Jessica Park
From Manhattan With Love by Christopher Smith
I Kill Me: Tales of a Jilted Hypochondriac by Tracy H. Tucker

 Special Gifts

Signed bookmark from C.J Roberts
Signed bookmark, bookplate and postcard from Marie Coulson
Knitted scarf in any color from Wendy Neuman Wilken

Pack 5

$10 Amazon gift card from Bonnie Hill Burgess -
Signed paperback from the Green Bayou Novels Collection by Rhonda Dennis
Signed set of the Timber Wolves trilogy (Destiny Binds, Time Mends, and Fate Succumbs) by Tammy Blackwell
Signed copy of Ten Days Of Perfect by Andrea Randall

eBooks

Collide by Gail McHugh
Disastrous by E.L Montes
Bound Together & Last Christmas by Marie Coulson

 Special Gifts

Signed bookmark from C.J Roberts
Signed bookmark, bookplate and postcard from Marie Coulson

STAR PRIZE

Signed glossy tri-fold promotional flyer for the original, self-published edition of Bared to You by Sylvia Day. Donated by Fred LeBaron.

To enter you must donate to the fundraiser. The rafflecopter requires you to do this and names will be cross checked with donations. PLEASE LEAVE YOUR NAME AND EMAIL WHEN MAKING A DONATION

Tuesday, January 15, 2013

Tasting Never Blog Tour!

Welcome to the Tasting Never Blog Tour!!!



This is a New Adult novel recommended for ages 18 and up (but as you can read in my review - I say 16 and up)

"Never Ross wants to be loved.
It's that simple, but it's not that easy."

Never is a girl with a broken soul who doesn't date nice guys and can't seem to go to bed at night without crying herself to sleep. She doesn't need any complications in her life, especially not when they're attached to a man that could be her emotional twin.

Ty McCabe can't stand Never the first time he meets her. He's aware that the feeling's mutual and the two don't think they'll ever see each other again, but when fate takes a hand and puts them both in the wrong place at the wrong time, Ty and Never form a tentative friendship that opens the door on their dark sides and shows them what it's like to live in the light.

"Sometimes, the only way to go forward, is to take a few, careful steps back."



Excerpt:

Ty's hot mouth is on my neck, and I find myself taking short, sharp, little breaths as I press my shaking hands to his chest. If I sleep with him again, I'll be making the biggest mistake of my life. He's the first real friend I've ever had, and I don't want to cheapen the feelings that are simmering between us. We made that mistake once before, and we survived. We've been through a lot since then, and I know that if I lose him now, I will never be whole again. Ty is my other half, lover or no, and just being around him is enough for me.

“Ty,” I say, trying my best to sound stern. Instead, my voice comes out like a butterfly, flutters against Ty's hair and swirls it gently against my lips. I moan and find that my fingers are now curled in the fabric of his T-shirt.

“Never,” he says back to me, the word like fire against my skin. In those two syllables, I hear how he feels about me. He thinks he's in love. Ty McCabe thinks he's in love with me. He doesn't say it aloud, but I can tell. Sex isn't the best way for me to show my feelings; I've abused it for far too long that it has somehow lost some of its meaning. I try to tell Ty this, but I can't speak with his lips on my throat and his hand sliding across the nape of my neck.

I run my own hands down his chest and put them beneath his shirt, on the hard plane of his belly. His muscles contract as I press my fingers into them, touching, feeling, absorbing the man, the complication, that is Ty McCabe. All the while, my mind is racing in circles trying to talk me out of this.

“Kiss me,” Ty says and it's not a question, it's a request, albeit a gentle one. His voice is softer than I've ever heard it. His words are naked, stripped of all the bullshit that's happened to him, all of the horrible things that mirror my own life. Ty and I are like twins, like two halves of the same whole. They say that opposites attract, but Ty and I are very much the same and the attraction between us burns brighter than the sun. “Kiss me,” he says again and I do.

If you're still not convinced, you can go test it out for yourself by reading the first three chapters!  Also, while it's not a must, you do get extra entries for purchasing any of CM's books AND another set of extra entries for purchasing/gifting Tasting Never.  There are other FREE ways to enters, so don't feel that you have to spend.  I'm just throwing that out there.  Give it a shot.

What you can win!

Kobo Mini eReader (black or white)
1 of 2 $50 Amazon Gift Cards
1 of 3 Paperback Copies of Tasting Never
1 of 5 C.M. Stunich eBook (your choice!)
1 of 10 eBook Copies of Tasting Never

Enter here!

And check this out:

Keeping Never Cover Reveal!
Finding Never Cover Reveal!


















You saw them here "first" people!! Finding Never is book 2, and Keeping Never is book 3.  Finding Never is due out VERY soon. So keep an eye out!

WARNING - SPOILER IF YOU HAVE NOT YET READ TASTING NEVER!!

Finding Never Blurb:

Never Ross and Ty McCabe have come a long way – but they can't stop now. Their pasts are still there, ready to sweep over and consume them if they don't confront them. A visit to Never's family seems like the first logical step, but will it make things better or worse? And what about Noah Scott? Ty is Never's tortured other half, but can he also be the healing balm that she so desperately needs? With McCabe's past still a virtual unknown, Never is going to have to make more than one decision capable of breaking both their hearts.

Monday, January 14, 2013

Life Liberty and the Pursuit of Happiness by Jennifer Zeliff

***Please see Update***

There are so many things that can be said for this book. It is very intriguing.  There is drama, suspense, heartache, self discovery, and healing.  I have actually never really read a book like this before, and I commend Ms. Zeliff for pulling me into the story of Abby from page one.  

Abby is a normal girl, not crazy, just a little troubled.  She had a very bad relationship with her mother growing up; and her father was not really anywhere around, travelling for work mostly.  

Tiny spoiler (which actually can be read in the snippet available on Amazon) - Her mother was raped in college and as a result got pregnant.  She kept a journal about it, and about her poor parenting, that we get bits and pieces of as we read about Abby's journey towards healing.  That I really enjoyed - well, not so much enjoyed, but it helped to understand why Abby's mom was such a bitch.  Sorry to put it so bluntly.  But that is really the nicest way to describe her mother.

I do have a problem with the book though; the end left me with nothing.  There were editing issues, but that didn't really bother me because I truly enjoyed the book, and I had a hard time putting it down.  But I felt no closure in the end.  There was enough information to assume how things went, but I ended up feeling a little depressed after the last sentence; there needed to be more.  It is almost as if the author felt that the book was getting too long and rushed through it.  

All in all it was good, but I genuinely needed more.  I would recommend the book to almost anyone, I'd say 15 and up (only because of the abuse).  I think that Jennifer Zeliff has started something good, and could actually end up on a best seller list - all she needs to do is rewrite the end.


***
Update
***

I have just spoken with the author and have learned that she is working on a sequel to this book.  Thank God!  I just did not feel any kind of closure at the end of this book.  Learning that there will be another changes my perspective a lot.  I will definitely recommend this book, and if you don't like waiting around to find out what happens, wait until the next book is available.  I will be reading the sequel, for sure!  ;-)

Sunday, January 13, 2013

Spoon-fed Addiction by Silvano Williams


When I was asked to read this book, I wasn't sure how I would like it.  I prefer to watch stories like this in movie form - but I enjoy mystery and suspense enough that I thought I'd give it a go.  And I'm glad I did!

The only thing I didn't really like was knowing what was going to happen at the end.  For me, it made it hard to read because I felt it took away from the suspense factor, but it wasn't so much that it deterred me away from the book.  It was actually quite enjoyable if you like suspense.  Read the blurb below, and you'll see what I mean.


That being said, I was wrong.  It didn't exactly end how I thought it would.  Seriously, I thought I had it all figured out about half way through, and it went a completely different direction.  The writing was quite well, too, which was refreshing.  Silvano Williams does a spectacular job painting Adiran's tormented thought process.  It was also interesting reading about Adiran's opinions of people that he "worked" with.  Silvano can also be very insightful - see quote:

"Love is like religion. Such a complex answer for an unneeded question. Who needs gods when there is the truth? All we need to do is open our minds and accept it."

All in all, it was a nice, fast read.  If I had anything really to complain about, it would be that I would have enjoyed it being a bit longer!  

Blurb:


"Spoon-fed Addiction is a first-person account of the last moments in the life of Adiran P. Battlefield; a sarcastic, nihilistic, yet charismatic young man who died by his own hands. A small time drug dealer by trade, Adiran gives you a front seat ride into his mind as the night's events unfold. The story begins with a diary excerpt however, of a girl proclaiming her love for Adiran--a love so strong that 2 months after his death she follows in his footsteps and commits suicide to join him in the after-world.

Adiran's night begins like any other, full of self-loathing and irreverent observations about the world around him, typical of a person that has grown in an environment of drugs and apathy. As the night goes on, Adiran’s own grasp of reality unwillingly slips from him, forcing memories of painful events to resurface. Through his own process of self-discovery, you will learn details from his childhood, and most importantly, about the person who he considered the love of his life--Veronica. The eventful night that ended her life is the primary cause for Adiran’s spiral of constant sorrow and discontent. The murder of another one of his friends is what sets in motion the chain of events that make this night his last one alive.

Spoon-fed Addiction is a psychological thriller, driven mainly by Adiran’s inner dialog as he tries to find a way to exact revenge on the person responsible for his friend’s death. Putting into question his own perception, Adiran glimpses something hidden within the shadows, a supernatural force that may be responsible for the events that ultimately lead him to his death.

Take a ride into an almost familiar world as dreams become nightmares, lives become failures and flawed perceptions of a reality tainted by things unseen give way to horrible consequences."


Get your copy of Spoon-fed Addiction in all eBook formats, and visit Silvano Williams' facebook page.

Thursday, January 10, 2013

Tasting Never by C.M. Stunich

I am not even sure where to start with this book.  While sitting here, I have started writing 3 times and deleted all of it, and then started over again.  I am at a loss for words; not because it was bad, but because it was remarkable.  There are so many emotions that I have experienced in my lifetime:  I dropped out of high school (I am now getting my degree); I was in an abusive relationship that involved drugs (I have not touched any since 2003); I have had an abortion (I have never admitted that before and I'm not even sure right now if I am going to leave it on here); I got married, had two kids, and then 6 years later was divorced; I hit a downward spiral, making a lot of the same choices that Never (the main character) made as a result of depression from getting divorced; I met an amazing man that pulled me out of my hole and into the light in a way I didn't think was ever going to be possible, not after the hurt I had experienced - we have been married nearly 3 years and have a son together, our marriage isn't perfect, but it is pretty amazing.

I am sharing all of this because this book makes it okay to be different.  This book makes what many people look at as taboo seem normal.  This book has me in tears right now while I admit my dirty little secrets with all of you.  This book changed the way I view myself and my past; and for that, CM Stunich, I thank you from the bottom of my heart ♥

That is it. That is my review.  A little unconventional, but I know there are plenty of people who will understand.

I recommend this book for ages 16 and up.  That was my turning point age.  That is when my life started "happening," and I think that any 16 year old boy or girl could benefit from reading this.  Anyone who regrets anything they have done in the past will benefit from this book.  Anyone will benefit from this book. You can get your copy here.

Tuesday, January 8, 2013

Immortal Blood - Immortal Heart series by Magen McMinimy

Immortal Blood by Magen McMinimy is a fun read!  It reminds me a bit of Kresley Cole's Immortals After Dark series, and I am a huge fan of her, so it's no surprise that I enjoyed this book.

Meet Izzy.  She is a successful woman, providing for herself quite nicely.  She owns her own home and a shiny, silver Audi (fun!).  She goes on a date with Mystery Man, Zander, and it takes a turn for the worst.

Enter Bain.  Bain is a Fae Warrior, and Immortal Brother, sworn to protect the human race from the Dark Fae wreaking havoc on the world.

He's arrogant, and she's... spicy!

I love this paranormal world that Magen has created!  There are a lot of other supernatural creatures in this book, but she creates her own twist on an overly done genre, making it her own, and had me hooked in a few short pages.  And this twist has nothing to do with sparkling vampires, making it even more likable.

I love Izzy's personality.  She is feisty and outspoken.  She is my kind of girl!  I'm a little sad, actually, that she is a fictional character, because she and I could be great, life-long friends.  She is quick witted and keeps arrogant Bain on his toes and second guessing himself.  They are great compliments to each other.

Ultimately, I give this book a 4 out of 5 stars, only because there were some editing issues (but honestly, when are there not editing issues in any Indie book?).  The story itself gets 10 stars... LOVED those love scenes ;-)

Q&A with Magen McMinimy

Just for fun :-)



Beckstar Reviews: How many books, as of right now, will there be for the Immortal Heart series?

Megan McMinimy: 1 for each brother, Kale (Immortal Cravings) Lothar (Immortal Promise) Uriah (Immortal Fight) and Cree and Rowan (Immortal Dream)
5 books so far, with Immortal Blood.

BR: What were you doing when you got the idea to write this series?  Or what inspired you to write it?

MM: It’s actually a little funny, the first series I wrote was a Paranormal Romance about vampires, and I loved it. But I knew when I finished that series I want to write something different. I had a character in mind that was this gorgeous, chiseled, sexy man who was arrogant and hated vampires, thus Bain was born. The very first thing I wrote in this series was the conversation between Bain and Izzy when she asks him if he’s a vampire.

BR: How do you react to a bad review for one of your books?

MM: Naturally no one wants to hear that someone doesn’t like what they have spent months pouring their heart into. However I accept that not everyone will love my books and I try to look at any criticism as an opportunity to grow.

BR: What is your “poison” of choice while writing, to help get the creativity flowing?

MM: I have a crazy writing mix that I listen to. I call it crazy because it covers most genres; Country, 80’s, love ballads, pop, some heavy metal and even classical.

BR: Do you and your husband ever try out any of the spicy scenes in your books?  Seriously, inquiring minds want to know!

MM: *smiling like the Cheshire cat* Uh . . .  maybe ;)

BR: Do you ever write naked?

MM: haha not completely, but I do all my writing while in the bedroom.

BR: Have you ever been to a Turkish prison?

MM: Nope. Now I’m curious.

BR: I’m sure you are!  But if I told you, I’d have to kill you.  What is your favorite romantic comedy and why?

MM: I don’t watch much TV or Movies and when I do, I don’t watch comedies. I’m a sucker for all the comic based movies (I’m also in love with Thor ;))

BR: If you woke up as an animal tomorrow, what would you want to be?

MM: Ooh that one’s hard . . . a year ago I would have said something like a tiger or wolf. But after writing Immortal Blood, the thought of flying seems pretty amazing, so I’d have to say a Hawk or Eagle.

BR: If you could switch lives with someone, dead or alive, for one day, who would you be?

MM: Izzy LOL

BR:  I’d have to agree with you!  I wouldn't mind if Bain turned my scent a little spicy! ;-) Dog or cat?

MM: Dogs ( I have two and they are my full sized babies) I had an amazingly cool cat at one time and I could never replace him, so no more cats for me.

BR: You are terminally ill and have 3 months to live.  Where would you most want to go that you have never been?

MM: Russia or Italy, either one would be good with me.


Sunday, January 6, 2013

Beyond the Eyes (book one in Beyone the Eyes Series) by Rebekkah Ford

Beyond the Eyes is the first book in Rebekkah Ford's first series, and I loved it!  I have read other reviews on this book, and honestly I don't think this book deserves any lower than a 4 out of 5 stars.  I personally give it a 5 out of 5 (4 out of 5 if I factored in grammatical errors - but I like to review the story, not the editing).  The majority of the reviewers agree with me, which makes me very happy!

I love that her story is unique.  The paranormal world that she created is a first, for me at least.  I love that it isn't vampires and werewolves. It's different and hasn't been repeated over and over again.

Paige is a 17 year old girl who has cryptic premonitions that he is having a hard time understanding.  She lost her father at the young age of four.  Her mother is a traveling nurse, and isn't around much.  She keeps herself busy with school and hanging out with her friends: Carrie, Tree, and Matt.  She meets swoon-worthy Nathan very early in the book, and I find him very interesting and I ached to get to know him better ;-)

Thankfully, we get to know him quite well!  One of the highlights of this YA Paranormal Romance is the romantic relationship with Paige and Nathan.  They do progress at a bit of a faster rate than in other novels, but I don't feel that it was too fast.  He is old and knows what he wants (I'm not going to say how old because I'm not into spoilers - just know that he's old enough!), and she had to grow up at a young age due to her mom's job keeping her away from home; she also has been in a serious relationship in the past that lasted a few years.  Paige knows how a relationship works and I would even venture to say that she was able to make an educated decision in regards to Nathan.

While I missed the butterflies of experiencing the growth of their relationship, it didn't take anything away from the story for me at all.  With that in mind, I love that she wrote their relationship in a realistic way - and I got plenty of warm fuzzies from that!  I'm so sick of YA novels pretending that these couples aren't having some kind of romantic "shenanigans!"  Things are different now than they were when even I was a teenager.  And it isn't written in a way that it is inappropriate for even a 14 or 15 year old to read - don't worry moms!  They've seen worse on MTV than they'll read in this book.  It was actually refreshing.  If you want something to compare the "Hotness Factor," I would say it is more hot than Breaking Dawn, and much colder than Fifty Shades of Grey (like an ice cube compared to that series)...

Here is what confuses me about other reviews I have read about this book:

One reviewer said that she felt the main character, Paige, was too whiny and cried a lot.  There were a few times that she did cry; we, as adults, have to remember that she is a hormonal 17 year old, who suffers a great loss (fair warning - you'll need a bit of tissue)!  Her mother is very flighty.  She is a travelling nurse who is never around (which we find out later is because it hurts her to be around her daughter because she reminds her too much of her dead husband - and she tells Paige this!), so Paige has been, basically, raising herself.  And the last, most common issue among reviewers who rated less than 4 - Paige is selfish.  Again, Paige is 17 years old.  If she was selfless and wasn't hormonal, I would be giving the book a much lower rating - because it wouldn't be believable.  Considering the circumstances surrounding Paige's life, I find nothing odd about her personality.  I agree that she is all of these things, and even some more that I could add to the list, but I see nothing out of the ordinary with her behavior in comparison to any other teenage girl her age.

I, for one, am very excited to continue on Paige's journey.  I can't wait to read the second book, Dark Spirits, to see her growth.  Also, for those Grammar Nazi's: there were a few mistakes, but none that just screamed at you; more than mass market books, but much less than most self published books I've read (and there have been a lot).


Tuesday, January 1, 2013

Taken - Novella and Prequel to Awakening (The Watchers Trilogy) by Karice Bolton


It's no secret that I love this series (you can read about that here), and this book is no different!  I am a huge fan of novellas and prequels, especially when it comes to a series.  I like reading about the characters' pasts and how they got to where they were in the start of a series.  

In Taken, you learn about what happened to Ana before the start of The Watchers Trilogy.  I am not going to even go into the plot on this book because it will give too much away about the series it was written for.  

Personally, I think that you should read the trilogy first, and then read this book.  You could read this first, but it will take away from the surprise in Awakening, and I feel that you wouldn't think it is as good as it truly is! Five stars for this book, my friends!

I'll leave you with one quote from the book:



I was Taken.
My life was left behind.
My past was forgotten.
Let the Awakening begin…

Bolton, Karice (2012-11-27). Taken (A Watchers Novella) (The Watchers Trilogy) (Kindle Locations 2286-2289).  . Kindle Edition.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...